Encyclopedia of feminist literature / 2006. Kathy J. Whitson
Encyclopedia of sex and gender: men and women in the world's cultures / edited by Carol R. Ember
Encyclopedia of women in American politics / edited by Jeffrey D. Schultz and Laura van Assendelft
Encyclopedia of American women and religion / June Melby Benowitz
Encyclopedia of women and world religion / edited by Serinity Young
Women during the Civil War: an encyclopedia / Judith E. Harper ; foreword by Elizabeth D. Leonard
Encyclopedia of women social reformers / Helen Rappaport
Women and gender in medieval Europe: an encyclopedia / Margaret Schaus, editor
|Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other useful finding aids for Women’s/Gender/Feminist Studies. Titles with an asterisk are available from off-campus only to currently-enrolled UCI students, faculty, and staff.|
Note: Reference works provide concise and easily accessible information and serve as excellent sources for topic exploration and background information including concepts, theories, names, dates, etc. A few are on the Web, but most of these invaluable sources are not yet available online; you must use the paper-only sources in the Langson Library Reference Collection, first floor.
Brings together manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD) is a full-text database of the personal experiences as reflected in the letters and diaries of 1,325 women who lived in North America before 1960.
A Primary Source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event.
Primary sources related to Women's Studies are documents which include letters, diaries, pamphlets, broadsides, photographs, speeches, and more. A famous example of a primary source in Women Studies is the "Diary of Anne Frank" - this chronicles the experiences of a Jewish family during WWII.