Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
Basic Information about Southeast Asian Americans
These basic overviews are just a sampling of the materials in the UCI Libraries that provide a good introduction to the immigrants and refugees from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam in the United States.
Southeast Asian American Statistical Profile 2004
Written by Max Niedzwiecki and TC Duong and published by the Southeast Asian Resource Action Center (SEARAC) in 2004, based on 2000 U.S. Census data. Compare it to the newer data in "Southeast Asian Americans at a Glance: Statistical Profile 2010."
Southeast Asian Americans at a Glance: Statistical Profile 2010
SEARAC (Southeast Asia Resource Action Center) has gleaned statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau's American Community Survey (ACS), which replaces the long form from the 2000 decennial census of population. The estimates in this report are based on 2009 ACS 1-year estimates, accessed in September 2011 from the American Factfinder website.
The New Face of Asian Pacific America: Numbers, Diversity & Change in the 21st Century
Call number: E 184 O6 L35 2003: 1 copy in Langson Reference, 1 in the Southeast Asian Archive.
This definitive one vol. of data and analyses of the Asian American population, based on the 2000 census, includes a chapter on the Vietnamese and one on Southeast Asians (including Hmong, Cambodians, Laotians, Thai, and others). With the 2010 census figures coming out, UCLA may produce another comprehensive, authoritative, and readable tool based on the new census data.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America*
The electronic version of the 2000 3-vol. set is searchable off-campus only by UCI currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff. The link in the ANTPAC record for this resource provides searching by keywords, such as Hmong, Miao, Laotian Americans.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
Call no.: Langson Library Reference E 184 A1 G15 1999
A compantion to the electronic resource above, this 2-vol. set (in paper) provides the full-text of primary documents, which range from oral histories, letters, autobiographies, government publications, poems, speeches, and other formats of 90 groups in America. There is a chapter for Cambodian Americans, Hmong Americans, Laotian Americans, and Vietnamese Americans.
Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World*
This electronic book (full-text online) has a chapter on the Hmong diaspora (pp. 103-113), Vietnamese in Australia (pp. 1141-1149), Vietnamese in Canada (pp. 1149-1158), and Vietnamese in France (pp. 1158-1167). Scroll through the table of contents in the left frame. Click on Download PDF (at the right) to display the pages clearly.