Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Linguistics: Site Archive


URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/linguistics

From the old guide

Key Linguistics sites
•  The Linguist List
•  SIL International (Formerly Summer Institute of Linguistics)
•  Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-index
•  YourDictionary.com: the Global Language Resource: even more language sites
•  MIT Linguistics: Department of Linguistics & Philosophy

Top of Page  

How to do research in Linguistics
In-depth guides & instructional materials
•  How to study linguistics Geoffrey Finch
Geoffrey Finch
Call number: P 51 F544 1999 (Langson Library)
(from the back cover:) "[this book] is an ideal introduction and companion to your studies. It assumes no prior knowledge and is a refreshingly practical and clear guide… [It] covers all the core topics of linguistic study, with chapters discussing strategies for studying phonology, syntax, and semantics, as well as pursuing branches of linguistics such as sociolinguistics, stylistics, and psycholinguistics."
•  Projects in linguistics: A practical guide to researching language
Alison Wray, Kate Trott, and Aileen Bloomer
Call number: P 126 W73 1998 (Langson Library)
Aimed at undergraduates taking linguistics courses, this book discusses "what good research looks like; how researchers express themselves; what is a good and bad place to start from."
•  Corpus linguistics: Investigating language structure and use
Douglas Biber, Susan Conrad, and Randi Reppen
Call number: P 128 C68 B53 1998 (Langson Library)
"This book is about investigating the way people use language in speech and writing. It introduces the corpus-based approach to linguistics, based on analysis of large databases of real language examples stored on computer. Each chapter focuses on a different area of linguistics, including lexicography, grammar, discourse, register variation, language acquisition, and historical linguistics. The chapters follow the same progression of topics, beginning with the identification of important aresearch questions, the steps followed for corpus-based analysis, and finally the interpretation of the findings. Example analyses are presented to provide concrete descriptions of the research methods and advantages of corpus-based techniques."

Top of Page  

How to find Linguistics books and other materials
ANTPAC, Melvyl, WorldCat & Other catalogs
•  ANTPAC
Search this online catalog to see if a particular book, journal, government publication, video, etc., is in the UCI Libraries. This is also the best place to start to see if UCI has books by a particular author or on a topic. Take advantage of the UCI Libraries Tutorial, Find Books With ANTPAC (http://education.lib.uci.edu/onlinetutorial/mod3/mod3a.html).
•  Melvyl
The Melvyl Catalog is the combined online catalogs of all the UC libraries, including ANTPAC. Search the Melvyl Catalog when ANTPAC yields too little. See "Getting Started With Melvyl and the California Periodicals Databases" (http://www.cdlib.org/inside/instruct/melvyl/). For circulating materials listed in Melvyl and not owned by UCI, UCI students, faculty, and staff may borrow them via Melvyl Request (click on the Request button in Melvyl to complete an online InterLibrary Loan form for a specific item).
•  WorldCat
Larger than Melvyl, his database combines the online catalogs of thousands of libraries across the U.S. and beyond. Searching WorldCat will not only verify the existence of an item (book, journal, video, etc.) but will list the libraries that own a copy. UCI students, faculty, and staff may borrow many of the items listed in WorldCat if they’re not owned by UCI. The online InterLibrary Loan form is on the ANTPAC (http://www.lib.uci.edu/antpac/) homepage.
•  CogNet Library UCI access only
"This is a growing collection of searchable electronic texts in the field of cognitive and brain sciences. The CogNet library contains work from both from the MIT Press, as well as links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals, offering public access to online work."

Top of Page  

How to find Linguistics articles
•  Linguistics Abstracts Online (LABO) UCI access only
This database from Blackwell Publishing indexes and abstracts over 300 linguistics journals, from 1985-present.
•  List of journals covered
•  Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) UCI access only
This database from CSA/Cambridge Scientific Abstracts "assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics." It covers 1973-present.
•  Fact Sheet: CSA LLBA
•  List of over 1200 journals covered (Serials Source List)
•  MLA International Bibliography UCI access only
Although best known as a literature/literary criticism database, the MLA (Modern Language Association) bibliography also includes international coverage of materials in linguistics by indexing journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. It covers 1963-present. Beginning in summer 2005, the UCI Libraries switched its access to this database from Ovid to CSA/Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
•  MLA Directory of Periodicals (searchable database) UCI access only
The MLA International Bibliography indexes more than 4,000 journals and provides a separate database where information about them can be searched. For example, a descriptor search of "linguistic*" [no quotes needed in the text box; the asterisk is the wildcard] yields over 800 records. In each record the following journal details are provided: ISSN, Publisher, Abstract, list of descriptors, Publication Information (year began, frequency, website, format availability, etc.), whether it is Peer Reviewed, Language of publication, Submission Information, Subscription Information, etc.
•  Electronically available Papers
"The Institute for Natural Language Processing (IMS) carries out basic and applied research and trains students to create tools for automated processing of spoken and written language." This site is a meta-index for full-text of Linguistics papers from dozens of U.S. and international universities and research institutes.

Top of Page  

Reference works
Dictionaries, encyclopedias... & other finding aids for Linguistics
•  Resources for Doing Linguistics
"SIL [formerly Summer Institute of Linguistics] produces resources for the purpose of assisting linguists in their fieldwork and research. These resources include textbooks, electronic and printed reference materials, software for linguistic data management and analysis, and fonts."
•  Ethnologue: Languages of the World and a whole lot more!
Owned by SIL International (formerly Summer Institute of Linguistics), Ethnologue "is probably the most comprehensive listing of information about the currently known languages of the world. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue database."
•  YourDictionary.Com
Subtitled "The Global Language Resource," this database offers hundreds of language dictionaries, grammars, listings of endangered languages, and related resources.
•  iLoveLanguages
Formerly The Human-Languages Page, "iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources. The more than 2000 links at iLoveLanguages have been hand-reviewed to bring you the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you’re looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language you’ve heard about, iLoveLanguages probably has something to suit your needs."
•  The Linguist List: Programs
"This part of the LINGUIST List site is designed to provide information about programs in linguistics and programs leading to degrees in related fields. LINGUIST currently has [over 800] linguistics and linguistics-related programs in its database. Like the rest of the information on the LINGUIST site, linguistics programs are classified by linguistic subfield and subject language. In the case of programs, such a classification means that the program has strengths in a particular subfield or language. The system is designed to help students and faculty find programs that specialize in particular languages or fields of study."

Top of Page  

Further research
Finding in-depth & specialized Linguistics information
•  Zhongwen.com: Chinese Characters and Culture
This is a comprehensive site for Chinese dictionaries uses the new "zipu" system of character trees. It is used extensively by native and non-native speakers.
•  Languages and Scripts of India
"Students and aficionados of Indian languages and scripts will thoroughly enjoy this useful metasite maintained by Yashwant K. Malaiya of Colorado State University. A Computer Science professor, Maliaya offers this site as a labor of love, to the benefit of interested users everywhere. Visitors will find overviews and resources devoted to the language and script of the major languages spoken in South Asia. Additional sections include the evolution of Brahmi Script; digitized Manuscript Images; Calligraphy, Bijaksharas, and Yantras; and Classical Languages and Texts."
•  Mirror of the Computation and Language E-Print Archive
This "is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for papers on computational linguistics, natural-language processing, speech processing, and related fields."
•  Computational Phonology
This is "the home page of the Special Interest Group on Computational Phonology (SIGPHON). This group provides a forum for exchanging news of recent research developments and other matters of interest in computational phonology. It also organises workshops in computational phonology." SIGPHON conference proceedings are available in full text at this site.
•  Lexical Functional Grammar
This site "provides access to information about various aspects of the grammatical theory known as Lexical Functional Grammar (LFG)."
•  Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar
This site "provides information about Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar (HPSG) related activities at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University, and pointers to other resources on the web. On this site you can find a description of the research in the HPSG Project; and a report of what we have been working on lately. You can also see who the project members are."
•  CSLI/Center for the Study of Language and Information
CSLI "is an Independent Research Center founded in 1983 by researchers from Stanford University, SRI International, and Xerox PARC.CSLI is devoted to research in the emerging science of information, computing, and cognition. This new science had its origins in the late 1970s as computer scientists, linguists, logicians, philosophers, psychologists, and artificial intelligence researchers, seeking solutions to problems in their own disciplines, turned to one another for help."
•  Linguistic Grammars Online
The LinGO Lab has "built a large-scale grammar for English (the "English Resource Grammar" or ERG) based on the HPSG framework. The grammar, lexicon and LKB grammar development system, and some teaching grammars can be freely downloaded. The ERG is being used as the testbed for ongoing research on multiword expressions partially funded by the NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation. It was also used in the Verbmobil machine translation system, and in an NSF-funded project on computer-aided speech generation for people who cannot speak because of disability. More recently, the ERG is also being deployed in the construction of novel, rich and dynamic treebank for HPSG, the LinGO Redwoods initiative."
•  Rutgers Optimality Archive
"The Rutgers Optimality Archive is a distribution point for research in Optimality Theory. Posting in ROA is open to all who wish to disseminate their work in, on, or about OT."

Top of Page  

UC Irvine departments & sites
Finding faculty & campus resources
•  Linguistics Department
A department within the School of Social Sciences, Linguistics offers a minor in this discipline. The availability of the B.A. in Linguistics is currently under review. For more information, contact Kristen Salsbury, Dept. Manager, at (949) 824-1426. Consult the department’s website for information about colloquia, ILSA (Irvine Linguistics Students Assoc.), and other department details and events.
•  School of Social Sciences

Top of Page  

Professional information
Organizations, associations & career information
•  Linguistic Society of America
"THE LINGUISTIC SOCIETY OF AMERICA was founded in 1924 for the advancement of the scientific study of language. The Society serves its nearly 7,000 personal and institutional members through scholarly meetings, publications, and special activities designed to advance the discipline. An interest in linguistics is the only requirement for membership.
•  Association for Computational Linguistics
"The Association for Computational Linguistics is THE international scientific and professional society for people working on problems involving natural language and computation."
Formerly: (1968) Association for Machine Translation and Computationl Linguistics
•  Institute of Linguists
Professional membership organization and examinations body working to promote and maintain standards of the professional linguist and to enhance the status of the profession.

Subject Guide

Christina Woo's picture
Christina Woo
Contact:
Langson Library 146

cjwoo@uci.edu

(949) 824-4974