Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Chicano/Latino Studies: Site Archive


URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/chicanolatino

Sources to be added

Key Chicano/Latino Studies sites
•  UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center
"The UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) was founded in 1969 with a commitment to foster multidisciplinary research efforts as part of the land grant mission of the University of California . That mission states that University of California research needs to be in the service of the state and that it must maintain a presence in the local community.

The CSRC serves the entire campus and supports faculty and students in the social sciences, life sciences, humanities, and the professional schools. Its research addresses the growing Chicano and Latino population, which now constitutes nearly one-third of California and one-half of Los Angeles, but continues to have disproportionately low access to higher education. Given its campus- and community-wide mandate, the CSRC reports directly to the Office of the Chancellor at UCLA. The CSRC also forms part of the Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR), a consortium of Latino research centers located at sixteen institutions in the United States.

The CSRC houses a library and special collections archive, an academic press, research projects, community-based partnerships, two competitive grant/fellowship programs, and the Los Tigres del Norte Fund."
•  Chicanos Online
The Chicano Research Collection website at Arizona State University lists links to "sites dealing with Chicano issues." Many sites listed are to Chicano/Latino studies programs at colleges and universities.
•  Hispanic Link
"Hispanic Link is a national news agency founded in February 1980 by Charles A. Ericksen, Sebastiana Mendoza Ericksen, and Hector Ericksen-Mendoza. The service syndicates opinion, analysis and feature columns to newspapers and magazines throughout the Americas through the Los Angeles Times Syndicate. [They] also publish Hispanic Link Weekly Report, a national newsweekly that covers Hispanic issues and trends."
•  American Latino
"While we still intend to closely track the critically important developments in U.S. Latino politics, AmericanLatino.net will also become your source for news about trends in business, education, arts and entertainment, sports, culture, style and more."
•  Pew Hispanic Center:
"The Pew Hispanic Center’s mission is to improve understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation. The Center strives to inform debate on critical issues through dissemination of its research to policymakers, business leaders, academic institutions and the media."

Top of Page  

How to do research in Chicano/Latino Studies
In-depth guides & instructional materials
•  Chicano Anthology Index: A comprehensive author, title, and subject index to Chicano anthologies, 1965-1987 compiled and edited by Francisco Garcia-Ayvens.
Call number: Z1361 M4 G37 1990 Langson Library Reference
•  Chicanos Online:
Chicano Research Collection "…a list of links to other sites dealing with Chicano issues."
•  Decolonial voices: Chicana and Chicano cultural studies in the 21st Century edited by by Arturo J. Aldama and Naomi H. Quiñonez.
Call number: E 184 .M5 D34 2002 UCI Langson Library
•  Dictionary of Literary biography:
•  Chicano Writers (1st series)
Call number: Langson Reference; PN451 .D537 v. 82
•  Chicano Writers (2nd series)
Call number: Langson Reference; PN451 .D537 v. 122
•  Chicano Writers (3rd series)
Call number: Langson Reference; PN451 .D537 v. 209
In vol. 209 there is a lengthy bibliography on pages 295-352. "Chicano Literature: A Bibliography" by Donaldo W. Urioste, is divided by "genre (novels, poetry, short fiction, theater, nonfiction narratives, anthologies, and criticism) and arranged by author. [It] includes only literary texts and critical studies published as books, chapbooks, or monographs." Although many more works have appeared since this volume was published in 1999, it is an excellent basic list including entries from the 1930s.
•  Research Centers listed in American Latino
•  Researching Chicano communities: Social-historical, physical, psychological, and spiritual space by Irene Isabel Blea.
Call number: F790 .M5 B57 1995 Langson Library
•  U.S.-Mexico borderlands issues: the bi-national boundary, immigration, and economic poligies / Ellwyn R. Stoddard.
Call number: F787 .S758 2001 Langson Library
•  Voices of a new Chicana/o history:
By Refugio I. Rochín and Dennis N. Valdés (editors). East Lansing: Michigan State University Press, 2000. Call no. : E 184 .M5 V65 2000 UCI Langson Library

Top of Page  

How to find Chicano/Latino Studies books and other materials
ANTPAC, Melvyl, WorldCat & Other catalogs

Chicano/Latino Studies is multidisciplinary, with some scholars studying politics, and others literature, education, sociology, women’s studies, and other perspectives. To identify books, videos, and other book-length works, search the following online catalogs:

For materials in the UCI Libraries
•  ANTPAC:
•  Find Books with ANTPAC tutorial (Anteaters Public Access Catalog)
In other UC library catalogs:
(combined online library catalogs of all UC libraries, including UCI)
•  MELVYL Catalog:
For items not owned by UCI, search the Melvyl Catalog. UCI currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other UC libraries via the "Request" button in the Melvyl Catalog (http://www.lib.uci.edu/services/ill/faq.html#request).
Beyond UC
•  WorldCat UCI access only
For items not listed in the Melvyl Catalog, search WorldCat, an international library catalog containing citations to materials in thousands of libraries. For items not owned by UCI, you may use UC-eLinks (orange button) to borrow materials via InterLibrary Loan (http://www.lib.uci.edu/services/ill/ill.html).
Searching by Subject in ANTPAC, Melvyl Catalog, and WorldCat:
Use Library of Congress Subject Headings. Representative subject headings include:
•  Cuban American
•  Cuban Americans
•  Guatemalan American
•  Guatemalan Americans
•  Hispanic
•  Hispanics
•  Mexican American
•  Mexican Americans
•  Salvadoran American
•  Salvadoran Americans

Top of Page  

How to find Chicano/Latino Studies articles

The following Article Databases are available from the UCI Libraries’ homepage (http://www.lib.uci.edu)--click on Find Online Resources. Enter the name of the database in the textbox.

Remote access is available to currently-enrolled UCI students, faculty, and staff only--details at http://www.lib.uci.edu/services/how/connect.html. Some contain full-text articles online.

•  Chicano Database UCI access only
"The Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for and about Chicanos. Updated quarterly, the Chicano Database provides extensive coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature." Click on "Help" at the upper right of the first screen for basic information about this database.
•  Ethnic Newswatch UCI access only
"Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Continuously growing since1991, Ethnic NewsWatch is now a collection of over 830,000 full-text articles from 240 publications. An average of 7,500 new articles is added each month." After clicking on either English or Español on the first screen, take advantage of the TUTORIAL as well as the HELP buttons on the next screen.
•  HAPI Online UCI access only
"HAPI Online [is] the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world."

Articles from scholarly/academic journals on Chicano/Latino research are covered by many article databases, such as the following, which are available under "Article Databases."

•  Sociological Abstracts
•  PsycINFO (psychology and related social sciences)
•  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
•  ERIC (education)
•  MLA Bibliography (literature, literary criticism)
•  LegalTrac (law, legal research)
•  NCJRS (criminal justice)

Top of Page  

Reference works
Dictionaries, encyclopedias... & other finding aids for Chicano/Latino Studies
Primary sources
•  El Plan de Santa Barbara
Subtitled "A Chicano Plan for Higher Education," El Plan was the "Analyses and Positions of the Chicano Coordinating Council on Higher Education."
•  El Plan de Aztlan
•  Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
•  16 de Septiembre: Remembering Independence
•  Mendez v. Westminster court decision
Secondary sources
•  Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (4 vols.)
Call number: E 184 S75 O97 2005 Langson Library Reference
Edited by Suzanne Oboloer an Deena J. Gonzalez, this 4-volume encyclopedia includes over 900 entries, each written by a scholar-specialist. Many entries end with cross-references to other entries in the encyclopedia, as well as a brief bibliography of additional information sources. Volume 4 includes an index 190-pages long, and the ANTPAC record for this encyclopedia has a link to the Table of Contents, or alphabetical list of the 900+ entries. To get to that link, perform a title search in ANTPAC (http://antpac.lib.uci.edu) and type in Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
•  Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia (3 vols.)
Call number: E 184 S75 L35 2006 Langson Library Reference
Edited by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sanchez Korrol, this encyclopedia's entries include not only hundreds of individual Latinas, but also entries on topics, such as Alvarez v. Lemon grove School District, Domestic Workers, Environment and the Border, Great Depression and Mexican American Women, Latinas in the U.S. Congress, Mujerista Theology, Spanish Borderlands, and Theater. Volume 1 begins with "Introduction: A Historical and Regional Overview of latinas in the United States," with separate sections on Latinas in the Southwest, Northeast, Midwest, Southeast, and in the Pacific Northwest.
•  Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States (4 vols.)
Call number: E 184 S75 E587 2005 Langson Library Reference
Edited by Ilan Stavans and Harold Augenbraum, this encyclopedia contains roughly 650 entries, of which about 150 are biographical. It models its name after the Encyclopedia Americana and Encyclopedia Britannica and therefore is not to be confused with Latinas in the United States: a Historical Encyclopedia (see next entry). Encyclopedia Latina calls itself "a four-volume register of the diverse, versatile, multifaceted Hispanic civilization in the United States," starting with the "Age of Conquest to colonization (1550-1848)" and continuing to "the present-day consolidation of Hispanic culture in the United States (from 1976)." Each article is signed and has a brief list of Further Reading. Occupying a third of volume 4 are a full-text appendix of Primary Documents (e.g., The Laws of Burgos 1512-1513, Treaty of Velasco 1836, Official Bracero Agreement), a few statistical tables, the Directory of Contributors, and Index.
•  Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture
Call number: E 184 S75 E59 2004 Langson Library Reference
This is "the first two-volume A-to-Z reference tool devoted to the vast subject of Latina and Latino popular culture." The editors define popular culture as "what people unofficially do, say, value, and practice in everyday life. Art, food, religion, literature, music, entertainment, and a wide variety of other societal activities, customs, and the products they generate...." - Preface
•  Atlas of Hispanic-American History by George Ochoa
Call number: Call no: E 184 S75 O287 2001
•  Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference Work on Hispanics in the United States
Call number: E 184 S75 H557 2003 Langson Library Reference
"...covers the range of HIspanic civilization and culture in the United States--providing a Chronology and Historical Overview, presenting the facts and figures in such chapters as Law, Government, and Military, and Population Growth and Distribution, and discussing the arts, including Theater, Music, and Film. The information provided includes data from the 2000 census..." - p. ix
•  Hispanic Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Hispanic Population, including 23 Ethnic Backgrounds from Argeninian to Venezuelan, for 1,266 U.S. Counties and Cities.
Call number: E 184 S75 H567 2004 Langson Library Reference
•  Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
Call number: E 184 S75 H5655 2002 Langson Library Reference
"All of the information in [this book] comes from U.S. Government sources either originally or by way of republication by the federal government." - p. xv
•  Notable Hispanic American Women
Call number: E184.S75 N68 1993 Langson Library Reference
•  Notable Hispanic American Women, Book II
Call number: E 184 S75 N68 1998 Langson Library Reference
•  Latino Encyclopedia
Call no: E 184 S75 L357 1996
•  Mendez v. Westminster: A Look at Our Latino Heritage

Top of Page  

Further research
Finding in-depth & specialized Chicano/Latino Studies information
•  UC MEXUS / University of California Institute for Mexico and the United States
Part of UC MEXUS's "primary mission of developing and sustaining a co-ordinated, Universitywide approach to Mexico-related studies" is to "[promote] education, research, public service, and other scholarly activities in five principle areas", including "LATINO STUDIES related to the history, society, culture, and condition of Mexican-origin populations in the context of American society and institutions, including their interactions with other U.S. immigrant groups".

In September 2003 UC MEXUS held a conference, Latinos in California II, in Riverside, California. Conference details and the final program are at http://ucmexus.ucr.edu/index.php?content=events/latinosinca.html .
•  Chicano Studies Collections:
Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley. This website briefly describes the collections but is not a full-text online library.
•  Hispanic.com
"Hispanic.Com provides information, services, and technology access to the global Hispanic community. We have as our mission the creation of a cyber-barrio where we can meet and help each other through the Internet to improve the quality of family life and archive economic success and political empowerment."
•  LatinoLA
"Southern California’s Latino Arts, Entertainment, Culture and Community"
•  Azteca web page
Based in Los Angeles CA, this site "contains information accumulated especially for Mexicans, Chicanos, and/or Mexican-Americans."
•  Pocho.com
"Satire + Cerveza" and "The Gateway to the Virtual Varrio"
•  Hispanic Online - NB:
Has links to Hispanic Magazine, Vista Magazine, Hispanic Trends, too
•  Top Ten Law Schools for Hispanics (from HispanicBusiness.com in 2005)

Top of Page  

UC Irvine departments & sites
Finding faculty & campus resources
•  Chicano/Latino Studies Department (School of Social Sciences)at UC Irvine
•  Demographic and Social Analysis (DASA) at UC Irvine

Top of Page  

Professional information
Organizations, associations & career information
•  Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute
CHCI’s mission "is to develop the next generation of Latino leaders. Our vision is an educated and civically active Latino community who participates at the local, state, and federal policy decision-making levels. CHCI seeks to accomplish its mission by offering educational and leadership development programs, services, and activities that promote the growth of participants as effective professionals and strong leaders. In the spirit of building coalitions, CHCI seeks to establish partnerships with other Latino and non-Latino organizations."
•  Hispanic Scholarship Fund
"The Hispanic Scholarship Fund (HSF) is the nation’s leading organization supporting Hispanic higher education. HSF was founded in 1975 with a vision to strengthen the country by advancing college education among Hispanic Americans, the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. population. In support of its mission to double the rate of Hispanics earning college degrees, HSF provides the Latino community more college scholarships and educational outreach support than any other organization in the country."
•  LULAC: League of United Latin American Citizens
Its mission "is to advance the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, health and civil rights of the Hispanic population of the United States."
•  MALDEF: Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund
MALDEF considers itself "the premier Latino civil rights organization in the United States."
•  MANA: A National Latina Organization
•  MEChA web pages
The Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano de Aztlan is an student organization on campuses across the U.S.
•  National Association for Chicana and Chicano Studies (NACCS)
NACCS formed "in 1972 in order to encourage a type of research which it felt could play a key part in the political actualization of the total Chicana and Chicano community. The Association called for Chicana and Chicano research that was committed, critical, and rigorous. As such, an Association of Chicana and Chicano scholars was envisioned not as an academic embellishment, but as a structure rooted in Chicana and Chicano political life." NACCS holds an annual conference, and program details for some of the most recent annual meetings can be read at this website.
•  National Council of La Raza
NCLR "is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan, tax-exempt organization established in 1968 to reduce poverty and discrimination, and improve life opportunities for Hispanic Americans."
•  United Farm Workers
The UFW labor union was founded by Cesar E. Chavez in 1962 as the National farm Workers Association. It merged with the AFL-CIO in 1966 and then re-formed in 1971 with its current name.
•  Ihispano.com
"Ihispano.com is one of the leading career sites for Hispanic and bilingual professionals. Launched in January 2000, ihispano.com has grown to become a vital career resource for job seekers and corporations alike. With resumes from qualified Hispanic professionals, job postings from some of today’s industry leaders and Fortune 500 companies, networking events and an e-newsletter, ihispano.com is achieving its goal of enhancing opportunities for Hispanics and delivering a complete source for corporations to act upon their diversity initiatives."
•  Saludos Web: Careers, Employment, and Culture
This site is a "Hispanic employment service [that] promotes workforce diversity and offers free resume postings to qualified bilingual professionals."

Subject Guide

Christina Woo's picture
Christina Woo
Contact:
Langson Library 146

cjwoo@uci.edu

(949) 824-4974