Chicano / Latino Studies

Subtitled "A Chicano Plan for Higher Education," El Plan was the "Analyses and Positions of the Chicano Coordinating Council on Higher Education." El Plan resulted from an April 1969 retreat of over 100 Chicano stgudents, faculty, administrators, and community delegates from throughout California to formulate a Chicano plan for higher education. This publication of over 150 pages addresses "Organizing and instituting Chicano Studies programs, "Recruitment and Admissions," "The University and the Chicano Community," and proposals for BA and AA degree programs in Chicano Studies, and related issues.

An early manifesto urging self-empowerment of the Chicano community over its own destiny. It was adopted at the first National Chicano Youth Liberation Conference in Denver, Colorado, March 1969. The plan presented for the first time a clear statement of the growing nationalist consciousness of the Chicano people. It raised the concept of Aztlan, a Chicano nation, and the need for Chicano control of the Chicano community. Referring to the Democratic and Republican parties as "the same animal with two heads that feed from the same trough," the plan pointed out that to achieve the goal of self-determination, would require an independent political party with Raza nationalism as its "common denominator."

Signed on February 2, 1848, the treaty was signed in the city of Guadalupe Hidalgo, Mexico, and brought an official end to the Mexican-American War (1846-1848). Also see this National Archives site: http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/guadalupe-hidalgo/

Court judgment on the landmark desegregation case. This is the image of the decision rendered by the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California .

A six-hour documentary featuring interviews with nearly 100 Latinos and more than 500 years of history.

This encyclopedia includes a wide variety of entries on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Entries address broad topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Available as an ebook and in print.

A source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. It addresses the significant ways in which the Latino and Latina populations have shaped the political, legal, and social institutions of the United States, with new and updated scholarship on political movements and organizations, important legal cases, minority-rights laws, and immigration legislation. Available as an ebook.

A digital research encyclopedia of scholarly work on Latin America's peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times.

Latino Stats catalogs the inequities that plague Latino communities and documents Latinos' growing power and influence on American life. Available as an ebook or in print.

A compilation of data, statistics, and reporting on Hispanic/Latino demographics, identity, and voting patterns.

Print only. Compares and contrasts the demographics of these populations. Langson Library Reference E184.A1 R78 2013

A four-volume register of the diverse, versatile, multifaceted Hispanic civilization in the United States, starting with conquest to colonization (1550-1848), and continuing to the present-day consolidation of Hispanic culture in the United States (from 1976-2005). Part of volume 4 is a full-text appendix of Primary Documents (e.g., The Laws of Burgos 1512-1513, Treaty of Velasco 1836, Official Bracero Agreement), and a few statistical tables. Available in print only. Langson Library Reference E 184 S75 E587 2005.

Available as an ebook or in print. An encyclopedia with entries covering topics such as the Bracero Program, Maquiladoras, NAFTA, Women of Ciudad Juarez and Chihuahua. Available as an ebook and in print.

Available in print only. Langson Library Reference E184.S75 C49 1995.

More than a dictionary, the encyclopedia-length entries define and discuss such terms as blowouts/walkouts, Hispanidad/Hispanismo, magical realism, Mestizaje, subaltern, syncretism, and Zoot Suiters. Available in print only. Langson Library Reference E184 S75 A795 2007.

This encyclopedia's entries include not only hundreds of individual Latinas, but also entries on topics such as Latinas in the U.S. Congress. Available in print only. Langson Library Reference E184.S75 L35 2006.

Available in print only. Langson Library E184.S75 H567 2012.