Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

SciFinder Scholar: Troubleshooting

SciFinder Scholar is a web-based interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/scifinder

What is SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is a web-based interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts. Over 27 million citations to chemistry publications are searchable by topic, author, CAS Registry Number, patent number, and CAS abstract number. In some cases, links to the full-text of journal articles are available. Over 16 million citations to medical and biological references in MEDLINE, 31 million organic and inorganic substances, and 59 million sequences.

Who May Use SciFinder Scholar

Access to SciFinder Scholar is available to University of California faculty, students, and staff only.

In accordance with the California Digital Library's licensing agreement with Chemical Abstracts Service, access to SciFinder Scholar is available to University of California faculty, students, and staff only through individual accounts.

SciFinder Scholar Account Registration

News and Updates

CAS will be discontinuing the client platform on June 30, 2011 for all U.S. and Canadian academic institutions. After June 30, 2011 UC Irvine will only have access to the web version of SciFinder.  Click here to register for your SciFinder Scholar web account (restricted to current UCI faculty, students, and staff).

January 20, 2011

------------------------------

February 22, 2011

CAS has investigated, confirmed, and addressed a compatibility issue involving the SciFinder structure drawing editor and Java Version 6 (JRE 1.6), update 24 released on February 15. This new Java version is now compatible with the web version of SciFinder. Customers who upgrade to Java Version 6 (JRE 1.6), update 24 will no longer experience any loss of SciFinder functionality. Various earlier versions of Java 6 have also been re-tested and verified as fully functional with the web version of SciFinder.

As always, if you have follow-up questions or any issues related to our product or Java support, please contact our technical support team at
800-753-4227 (option 4) or at ssd@cas.org.

Tony Machosky
CAS

------------------------------

February 16, 2011

Subject: Java 6, update 24 and SciFinder

We've just become aware of a potential incompatibility issue involving the SciFinder structure drawing editor and Java Version 6 (JRE 1.6), update 24, released by Oracle on February 15, 2011. The issue affects only the web version of SciFinder on the Windows operating system. Customers using SciFinder 2007, SciFinder Scholar 2007, or the web version of SciFinder on a Macintosh OS are not affected.

To prevent any negative impact to your SciFinder experience, we suggest that users of the web version of SciFinder on Windows delay installation of Java Version 6, update 24. We are fully engaged in identifying the source of this potential issue and will update you further when we have more information.

If you have questions, please contact our technical support team at 800-753-4227 (option 4) or at ssd@cas.org.

Thanks for your attention and patience.

Tony Machosky
CAS

------------------------------

Update on Macintosh v10.6 Snow Leopard and SciFinder Scholar

August 31, 2009               Jim Corning, CAS

CAS is committed to SciFinder support for major upgrades to key operating 
systems and we test these systems to ensure that they work optimally with 
our products. Testing of the web version of SciFinder with the newly released 
Mac OS X 10.6 (aka Snow Leopard) is currently in progress. We are happy to 
report that preliminary testing has not revealed any significant issues; 
however, if significant problems should be identified CAS will provide customers 
with an update. 

In regards to JRE versions, Snow Leopard comes with Java SE 6. This is not a 
new version and was previously supported in Mac OS X 10.5. No significant 
issues have been identified in preliminary testing using Java SE 6 with Mac OS X 10.6.

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

  • Mitchell Brown
  • 230 Francisco J. Ayala Science Library
  • Office: 949-824-9732
  • mcbrown@uci.edu