Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Chemistry: Search for information and suppliers

UC Irvine Chemistry has 44 faculty members, 215 graduate students, 50 postdoctoral fellows, and provide internationally-recognized programs in a friendly, informal setting; our annual research funding exceeds $10 million dollars.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/chemistry

1. I don't know where to start...

Where to get started, compound names, physical properties, spectra, and suppliers

•  1. I don't know where to start...

2. I have a chemical name...

3. I have a chemical formula or structure...

4. I need a spectra...

5. I need information about this chemical's effect on people...

Material Safety Datasheets, toxicology, and effects on human health.

6. I need to search Chemical Abstracts...

SciFinder Scholar is a computer-based client-server interface to the world's largest database of chemistry literature, Chemical Abstracts. Over 27 million citations to chemistry publications are searchable by topic, author, CAS Registry Number, patent number, and CAS abstract number. In some cases, links to the full-text of journal articles are available. Over 16 million citations to medical and biological references in MEDLINE, 31 million organic and inorganic substances, and 59 million sequences.

7. I have this weird abbreviation from older journal articles...

Weird/Difficult Chemical Journal Abbreviations  Chemistry Subject Guide


Here is a list of some of those older journal abbreviations that cause us so much trouble every once in a while:

A = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

Ann. = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

Annalen = Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie

B = Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft

Ber. = Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft [merged parts A & B to form Chemische Berichte]

Monshft. = Monatshefte für Chemie [or Monatshefte fuer Chemie]

J = Journal of the Chemical Society. London

Journal = Journal of the Chemical Society. London


These are all of the one's which I remember coming up for ancient references: I might have missed others in the vast woodwork of older chemical journals...

Prepared by April M. Love, University of California, Irvine (2003)

8. What full-text journals does the UCI Libraries have Web access to?

* UC Irvine access only

9. Chemical suppliers

10. Current journal awareness and database updates

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

  • Mitchell Brown
  • 230 Francisco J. Ayala Science Library
  • Office: 949-824-9732
  • mcbrown@uci.edu

 

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN