Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Chemistry: How to Do Research in Chemistry?

UC Irvine Chemistry has 44 faculty members, 215 graduate students, 50 postdoctoral fellows, and provide internationally-recognized programs in a friendly, informal setting; our annual research funding exceeds $10 million dollars.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/chemistry

How to Search Chemistry Topics?

Help

To get help with any of these databases, or if you have problems logging in contact:

  • Mitchell Brown
  • 230 Francisco J. Ayala Science Library
  • Office: 949-824-9732
  • mcbrown@uci.edu

 

Especially useful chemistry information on the Web

Journal articles, graphics, professional societies

General Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for General Chemistry: QD31...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Chemistry in Action. QD33 M79 1995 Reference Desk
General Chemistry: Principles and Modern Applications QD31.2 .P48 1989 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. QD5 C5 14th edition. *
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Journal of Chemical Education: *
Call number: QD1 J93 Drum
•  Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS): *
Call number: QD1 A5 Drum
•  Useful websites:
•  General chemistry: starting points for students

Analytical Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Analytical Chemistry range between QD71 through QD101.
Please use the ANTPAC catalog to locate titles.
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Analytical Chemistry Handbook. Reference Stacks QD78 .D43 1995
Analytical Chemistry: Refresher Manual. QD75.2 .K447 1992 Bar
Fundamentals of Analytical Chemistry. QD75.2 .S55 1996 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Reference Stacks QD75 W75 vols 1-36
Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry.
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Analytical Chemistry: *
Call number: TP1 A53 Drum
•  TrAC Trends in Analytical Chemistry *
Call number: QD71 T75 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Umea University Analytical Chemistry

Inorganic Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Inorganic Chemistry: QD151.2...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Basic Inorganic Chemistry QD151.2 .C69 1995
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Reference Stacks QD151.2 G52.
Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie.
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Inorganic Chemistry: *
Call number: QD1 I615 Drum
Journal of Inorganic and Nuclear Chemistry. QD1 J945 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Washington State University: Inorganic chemistry teaching resources
•  What you need to know about chemistry

Organic Chemistry

UCI Library Resources:
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Organic Chemistry: QD251.2...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Vogel's Textbook of Practical Organic Chemistry. Ref Desk QD261 V63 1989
Advanced Organic Chemistry. SL Reference Chemistry Table QD251.2 M37 1992
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: SL Reference Chemistry Table QD 246 D537
Dictionary of Organic Compounds.
Web Resources:
•  Important Journals:
•  Journal of Organic Chemistry: *
Call number: QD241 J6 Drum
•  Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry: *
Call number: QD476 J64 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  ChemnetBase *
•  Common Definitions and Terms in Organic Chemistry
•  Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide

Biochemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC and NLM call numbers for Biochemistry: QU 4...,
also try QH345..., QD 415...
please use the ANTPAC catalog to locate titles.
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Biochemistry. QU4 M429b 1996 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Ref Stacks QD 415 A25 B713 1997
Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Analytical Biochemistry: *
Call number: W1 AN278 Drum
•  Journal of Biochemistry: *
Call number: W1 JO155 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Yahoo: Chemistry & Biochemistry
•  Biochemistry

Physical Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Physical Chemistry textbooks: QD453.2...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: QD453.2 .M394 1997 Bar
Physical chemistry: a Molecular Approach.
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Ref Stacks QD151.2 G52.
Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie.
Web Resources
Important Journals:
•  Journal of Physical Chemistry A: *
Call number: QD1 J951
•  Journal of Physical Chemistry B: *
Call number: QD1 J952
•  Useful Websites:
•  Yahoo:Science, Chemistry & Physical Chemistry
•  Data for General, Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry

Electrochemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Electrochemistry: QD 552.5...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: QD553 .B37 2001 Bar
Electrochemical Methods: Fundamentals and Applications.
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Dictionary of Electrochemistry. Ref Stacks QD 552.5 H53 1984
CRC Handbook series in Organic Electrochemistry. Reference Stacks QD272.E4 C17
CRC Handbook series in Inorganic Electrochemistry. Reference Stacks QD557 .C73
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Bioelectrochemistry and Bioenergetics: *
Call number: W1 BI475 Drum
•  Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry: *
QD 551 J6 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Yahoo: Science, Chemistry & Electrochemistry
•  Electrochemistry Dictionaries

Computational Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Computational Chemistry: QD 39.3...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Computational Chemistry: Reviews of Current Trends. QD 39.3 M3 C66 Bar
Introduction to Computational Chemistry. QD455.3.E4 J46 1999 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Ref Stacks QD39.3.E46 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of computational chemistry.
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Journal of Computational Chemistry: *
Call number: QD 39.3 E46 J68 Drum
•  Reviews in Computational Chemistry.
Call number: QD 39.5 E46 R48 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Yahoo: Science, Chemistry & Computation Chemistry
•  Computational Chemistry List (CLL)

Chemical Engineering

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Chemical Engineering: TP 9...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: An Introduction to Industrial Chemistry. TP155 I57 1991 Bar
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook. Ref Stacks TP151 P45 1997 Bar
•  Reference Sources: *
Call number: Ref Stacks TP 9 E685
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology:
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Chemical and Engineering News: *
Call number: TP 1 C35 Drum
•  AIChE Journal: *
Call number: TP 1 A38 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Chemical Engineering
•  Gator Engineering: Chemical Engineering

Atmospheric Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Atmospheric Chemistry: QC879.6...
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Global Biogeochemical Cycles in the Climate System. QH344 .G595 2001 Bar
Principles of Atmospheric Physics and Chemistry. QC861.2 G66 1995 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: QC879.72 C43a Drum
Ozone Data for the World.
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Journal of Atmospheric Chemistry: *
Call number: QC 879.6 J68 Drum
•  Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences: *
Call number: QC851 J68 Drum
•  Journal of Climate: *
Call number: QC851 J623 Drum
•  Tellus. Series B, Chemical and physical meteorology: *
Call number: QC 801 T412 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  Yahoo: Science, Chemistry & Atmospheric Chemistry
•  Visible Earth

Environmental Chemistry

UCI Library Resources
•  Where?:
Call number: LC for Environmental Chemistry are in QD33, TD196 and TP196 so please use ANTPAC catalog to locate titles.
•  Textbooks:
Call number: Chemistry, An Environmental Perspective. QD33 B8885 1994 Bar
Environmental Chemistry. TD193 .M36 2000 Bar
Green Chemistry: Theory and Practice. TP155 .A657 2000 Bar
•  Reference Sources:
Call number: Handbook of chemical risk assessment: health hazards to humans, plants, and animals. Reference Stacks. TD196.C45 E38 2000
Dictionary of environmentally important chemicals. Reference Stacks. TD196.C45 A9 1998
Web Resources
•  Important Journals:
•  Handbook of Environmental Chemistry: *
Call number: QD31 H335 Bar
•  Environmental Chemistry.
Call number: QD1 E56 Drum
•  Useful Websites:
•  EnvironmentalChemistry.com
•  Virtual Library: Science: Chemistry: Environmental Chemistry Resources