Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Online

Starting points for research in drama
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

Streaming at UCI

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check ANTPAC before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document

Request other

Online Full Text Plays and Film Scripts

American Drama 1714-1915 * provides access to over 1,500 dramatic works. Genres represented include plays in verse, minstrel shows, temperance dialogues, frontier plays, etc.

American Film Scripts Online * provides access to over 1,000 full text film scripts. Many of these are not available elsewhere.

Asian American Drama * provides access to over 250 plays written by Asian American playwrights from the late 19th century to the present. Includes basic facts about each play as well such as first known production, production history, author biographical details, etc.

Bertolt Brecht Werke * is a keyword searchable resource providing access to the full text of Große kommentierte Berliner und Frankfurter Ausgabe along with information providing background, textual history, reception, and collaborators for all works.

Black Drama 1850-present (Second Edition) * contains the full text for over 1,200 plays written from the mid-19th century to the present by more than 200 English speaking playwrights of African descent. Includes basic facts about each play as well such as first known production, production history, author biographical details, etc.

Editions and Adapations of Shakespeare * provides access to 11 different major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of the mid-19th century. It also includes 24 different contemporary printings of individual plays and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques written in the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Various search options allow users to limit searches to plays and poems with associated text, plays and poems only, songs and lyrics only, stage instructions only, cast lists only, or the entire database.

English Drama * contains over 3,900 English plays written since the late 13th to early 20th centuries.

Latino Literature * contains over 450 plays in addition to poetry and literature written in both English and Spanish by Latino artists based in the United States.

Literature Online * has almost 8,000 full text plays written in English, in addition to hundreds of thousands of full text poems and other works of prose. The plays are found within four different sub-collections:

  • English Verse Drama
  • English Prose Drama
  • American Drama 1714-1915
  • Twentieth-Century Drama

North American Indian Drama * contains 256 plays representing groups such as Cherokee, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Hawaiian, and others.

North American Theatre Online * contains full text for over 5,000 plays and information about 25,000 more from the Colonial era to the present. The primary purpose of this resource is to provide both the full text of plays in addition to production information, theatre information, biographical information of playwrights and directors, etc.

North American Women's Drama * contains over 1,500 plays and related information such as playbills, production photographs, and ephemera.

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro * has over 800 Spanish plays written in the 16th and 17th centuries by playwrights such as  Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, and Agustín Moreto.

Twentieth Century North American Drama * contains over 2,000 plays and related information such as playbills, production photographs, and ephemera.

W.B. Yeats Collection * provides access to the complete text of everything written by Yeats, including his plays.