Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Drama: Find Research Articles

Starting points for research in drama
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/drama

Connect

If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are two different methods of connection:

Software - This authentication process takes a bit more time at the initial setup, but will work better in the long run. Note - some pages may not load properly using IE8.

Web - Use Web VPN to access resources with less initial work. Note - some pages may load more slowly than if using the Software VPN. Also, not all UCI resources (such as Naxos Music Library and Opera in Video) may work with Web VPN.

For additional assistance please contact OIT at (949) 824-2222.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check ANTPAC before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document

Request other

Drama Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text * provides full text for over 100 different theatre journal titles, such as Canadian Theatre Review, Contemporary Theatre Review, Asian Theatre Journal, Journal of American Drama & Theatre, etc. Use this database to locate both scholarly articles and also keep track of what's occurring in the profession across the world. Provides access to materials since the early 20th century, but majority of coverage is from 1984-present.

Performing Arts Periodicals * primarily covers the areas of drama, dance, and film. It's especially good for locating performance, book, and recordings reviews; obituaries; and popular news articles. Scholarly articles from main publications are also available.

Literature Criticism Online * provides access to biographical information about authors, scholarly essays on both their works and the author themselves, and bibliographies. Essays are generally of a critical and analytical nature. Note that you have the option to select from ten different subsets of Criticism. Sets of particular interest to those researching drama include:

  • Drama Criticism
  • Shakespearean Criticism
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center * is similar to Literature Criticism Online but only overlaps about 25% of the information provided by Criticism Online. In addition to the biographical information and critical essays, Literature Resource Center also provides work overviews, scholarly reviews, and actual text of some resources. Doesn't focus solely on drama.

World Shakespeare Bibliographyis the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2014. Provides brief annotations of books, scholarly articles, productions, and production reviews. Excellent way to locate many professional productions of Shakespeare works since 1960 all across the globe.

Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTORis an absolutely enormous scholarly interdisciplinary article database. You can find articles on all topics here. Is particularly excellent for locating older materials. Coverage generally stops about 3 years prior to current date.

LION: Literature Online * is a one stop shop for English language literature. You can find text criticism, biographical information on authors, and the original texts for poetry, drama, and prose. Criticism entries come from both the MLA International Bibliography and The Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL); these two indeces can be searched together or singly.

MLA International Bibliography * includes coverage in the areas of literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, dramatic arts, and history of publishing from over 4,400 journal titles, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literatureis a great tool to find scholarly journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, and more primarily related to musicology, ethnomusicology, and music theory. Almost 3/4 million records from over 10,000 journal titles since 1967 are included in this standard database. Use this resource if searching for opera or musical theatre information.

Academic Search Completeis a very large multidisciplinary database providing scholarly and news articles. You can normally locate at least one item on your topic due to the sheer breadth of their coverage.

Reader's Guide Retrospective * acts as an index to many general interest American magazines from 1890-1982. Use this if you are searching for items of popular interest or American culture during the 20th century.

Periodicals Archive Online * is an index to multidisciplinary journal articles from 1770-1996. Includes reviews and criticism. Major relevant subjects covered in this resource include Area Studies, Fine Arts, Folklore, Humanities, Music, Performing Arts, and Sociology.

Performing Arts Librarian

Scott Stone's picture
Scott Stone
Contact:
(949) 824-8351

Langson Library 464

stonesm@uci.edu
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Arts