Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Music: Newspaper Articles (Reviews)

Starting points for research in music
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/music

Current Newspapers

Use newspapers to find performance reviews and keep on top of current trends in the music world. Some of the major newspapers provided by UCI LIbraries are:

New York Times, 1980-present *

Los Angeles Times, 1985-present *

Wall Street Journal, 1984-present *

Washington Post, 1977-present *

Many newspapers are searchable through aggregated databases:

Newspapers.com * contains full runs and portions of newspapers (primarily from USA) from the early 1700's to the early 2000's. Excellent resource for smaller regional and local titles.

LexisNexis Academic * can be used to search for both journal and newspaper articles. To only search for newspaper articles (including reviews and obituaries) use the "Search the News" tab.

NewsBank * provides almost 3000 different newspapers from around the world. Particularly helpful if looking for international reviews.

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) * provides both journal and trade magazine articles. The search interface allows for limiting by document type so you can quickly locate reviews. Generally better for locating book and CD reviews than live performance reviews.

Many more newspaper resources can also be found at the News & Newspapers Research Guide.

Historical Newspapers

Historical newspapers can be an important source of information, particularly if dealing with historiographical research. 

RIPM Online: International Index to Nineteenth-Century Music Periodicals *

(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 *

ProQuest Historical Newspapers * provides coverage of 7 major historical American newspapers: New York Times (1851-2008), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945),  Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998), Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), Washington Post (1877-1996). Each newspaper can be searched separately or as a group.

Many more newspaper resources can also be found at the News & Newspapers Research Guide.

Connect

If you're researching off campus then you will need to login to the UCI VPN for authentication through the campus network. There are two different methods of connection:

Software - This authentication process takes a bit more time at the initial setup, but will work better in the long run. Note - some pages may not load properly using IE8.

Web - Use Web VPN to access resources with less initial work. Note - some pages may load more slowly than if using the Software VPN. Also, not all UCI resources (such as Naxos Music Library and Opera in Video) may work with Web VPN.

For additional assistance please contact OIT at (949) 824-2222.

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check ANTPAC before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document

Request other