Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Biology: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Information resources and tools for students and faculty in the School of Biological Sciences
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/biology

Key Sites

Key Earth System Science sites

Other resources

•  Animal Diversity Web An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Animal Diversity Web Has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare this part.
 
•  Avibase: The world bird database
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 3.5 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
•  FishBase
Web-based taxonomic guide to fish. As of April 2007 :30,000 Species, 254,600 Common names, 44,200 Pictures, and 39,700 References.
•  ENVIROnetBASE*
Searchable database of full text handbooks covering topics in pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring. The Environmental Science Collection describes new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring.
•  Tree of Life
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. Connections between Tree of Life web pages follow phylogenetic branching patterns. Unlike The Encyclopedia of Life (EoL) whose emphasis is on the development of species pages, the ToL focuses on phylogenetic information and the documentation of deeper branches in the tree of life.
• 

International Field Guides This site merges the book A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America by Diane Schmidt, Biology Librarian at the University of Illinois, and its companion Web site International Field Guides.  After the publisher returned copyright to the book, the author decided to combine the two products and create a searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. Except where noted, all guides listed here were personally examined by the author.

 
•  Non-governmental Organization Search
Seaches over 1000 NGO sites. Useful for finding international environmental policy.

Wetlands Resources

California Wetland Portal - The purpose of the Wetlands Portal is to provide the public information on the quantity and quality of California wetlands.

2010 State of the State's Wetlands Report-- The California Natural Resources Agency released the second State of the State’s Wetlands report, which summarizes the progress made by many state agencies, public and private partnerships, and the federal government to protect, restore, and monitor California’s diverse wetland resources from 1999 through 2009.

Biology Librarian

John Sisson's picture
John Sisson
Contact:
Ayala Science Library 246

824-4980

jsisson@uci.edu