Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Biology: Online Biology Collections

Information resources and tools for students and faculty in the School of Biological Sciences
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/biology

Electronic Books

•  Classical Genetics: Foundations (Electronic Scholarly Publishing)
Acrobat versions of classic papers from Mendel, Bateson, Dalton, Hardy, Muller and others.
•  Biodiversity Heritage Library
Over 5000 pre-1923 titles in full-text. Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The group's mission is to digitize the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections. This literature will be available through a global “biodiversity commons.”

Biology Pre-prints

bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

COLLECTIONS

Core Historical Collections of Agriculture- Albert Mann Library Cornell University.

http://chla.library.cornell.edu/c/chla/index.html

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

 

Biology Librarian

John Sisson
Contact:
Ayala Science Library 246

824-4980

jsisson@uci.edu