Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
* UC Irvine access only

Biology: Reference Works

Information resources and tools for students and faculty in the School of Biological Sciences
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/biology

Encyclopedias

• 

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia*

Very helpful encyclopedia of Zoology. Good for major phyla physiology, ecology and behavior.

•  Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species—that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge. The entry-point for each site is a species page suitable for the general public, but with several linked pages aimed at more specialized users.
• 

Biodiversity Heritage Library  Search across books and journals, scientific names, authors and subjects. The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and over 100,000 volumes.

• 

Animal Diversity Web An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Animal Diversity Web Has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare this part.

Biology Librarian

John Sisson
Contact:
Ayala Science Library 246

824-4980

jsisson@uci.edu