Acute Pain Management by
This textbook is written as a comprehensive overview of acute pain management. It is designed to guide clinicians through an impressive array of different options available to them and to patients. There has been a flurry of interest in the extent to which acute pain can become chronic pain, and how we might reduce the incidence of such chronicity. This overview covers a wide range of treatments for pain management, including the anatomy of pain pathways, the pathophysiology of severe pain, pain assessment, therapeutic guidelines, analgesic options, organization of pain services, and the role of anesthesiologists, surgeons, pharmacists, and nurses in providing optimal care. It also discusses the use of patient-controlled analgesia and how this may or may not be effective and useful.
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by
Anesthesiologists Manual of Surgical Procedures, 5e is your top-to-bottom guide to anesthetic technique, containing everything you need to know for effective perioperative management of patients. With so many moving variables before, during, and after surgery, it's crucial to understand the best practices for successful anesthetic care. This instructive text accounts for each variable immaculately, presenting all anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, detailing each treatment option then refining and summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. If you're an anesthesiologist, anesthesia resident, or CRNA, this new Fifth Edition will guide you through all operative scenarios and ensure the highest standards of anesthetic practice.Features: Full color illustrations and photographs Each procedure covered from both the surgeon and anesthesiologist's perspectives Summary tables distill each procedure for easy review Electronic version includes links to procedures Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
The Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine is a practical guide for practitioners who perform interventional procedures with radiographic guidance to alleviate acute or chronic pain. The author provides an overview of each technique, with detailed full-color illustrations of the relevant anatomy, technical aspects of each treatment, and a description of potential complications. For this revised and expanded Second Edition, the author also discusses indications for each technique, as well as medical evidence on the technique's applicability. The new edition features original drawings by a noted medical artist and for the first time includes three-dimensional CT images that correlate with the radiographic images and illustrations for a fuller understanding of the relevant anatomy. This book can be accessed through either EBL online or through LWW Health Library
Atlas of Implantable Therapies for Pain Management by
From reviews of the First Edition: "For the practitioner new to the field of implantable therapies, this book shows the scope of this particular branch of pain medicine. It is full of good advice on techniques and how to avoid complications." British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology "All practicing pain physicians, whether their background is in anesthesia or neurosurgery, will find [this atlas] very useful...beautifully written and well-illustrated with x-ray images and pictures...a must-read for every pain fellow and a very useful one for every pain physician." Doody's Review Service Now in its Second Edition, this atlas remains an essential guide to the treatment of pain using neuromodulation and is written for all implanters, from beginners to the most advanced practitioners. It has been significantly expanded with many brand new chapters and figures and thoroughly updated to address new techniques, targets, waveforms, and concepts that have emerged since publication of the last edition and now provides even more detailed coverage of patient safety, including infection control and reduction of bleeding risks. The new and returning physicians who have collaborated on the Second Edition are world-class in their research, clinical expertise, and ethics of practice. They have endeavored to make each segment of the atlas a great learning event through careful integration of extensive photographs, illustrations, and detailed instructions and to create a resource that helps to improve practice and enhance outcomes while complementing fellowship training, peer-to-peer experiences, and hands-on continuing medical education.
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management by
An essential resource for pain medicine clinicians at all levels of practice and training, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to delivering safe, accurate, and cost-effective relief for patients with acute and chronic pain. Dr. Steven D. Waldman walks you step by step through each procedure, incorporating all clinically appropriate imaging modalities to help you achieve the best possible outcomes for more than 160 nerve block procedures. Focuses on the how rather than the why of interventional pain procedures, offering an abundance of high-quality, full-color illustrations to demonstrate the best technique. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities that increase needle placement precision, including significantly expanded content on office-based ultrasound guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and computed tomography guided procedures. Keeps you up to date with 19 brand-new chapters, including Selective Maxillary Nerve Block: Suprazygomatic Approach, Brachial Plexus Block: Retroclavicular Approach, Erector Spinae Plane Block, Transversalis Fascia Plane Block, Adductor Canal Block, Dorsal Root Ganglion Stimulation, Sacral Neuromodulation, and more. Provides Indications, Clinically Relevant Anatomy, Technique, Side Effects and Complications, and Clinical Pearls and updated CPT codes for each procedure. Clearly illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Includes access to procedural videos covering Cervical Translaminar Epidural Block, Cervical Paravertebral Medical Branch Block, Percutaneous Facet Fusion, Lumbar Transforaminal Epidural Block, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Procedures in Interventional Pain Management by
With a focus on anatomy and sonoantomy, this beautifully illustrated updated edition captures the latest advances in the rapidly growing field of ultrasound-guided pain medicine and MSK procedures. This atlas is divided into seven sections that provide an overview and focus on interventional approaches and advancements. Authored by international experts, each clinical chapter features a maximal number of instructive illustrations and sonograms and provides a description of sonoanatomy, instructions on performing the procedure and how to confirm appropriate needle placement. This book will help encourage and stimulate physicians to master approaches in interventional MSK and pain management.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, as well as x-rays, ultrasound, CTs, and MRIs, help you confirm your diagnoses with confidence. Offers head-to-toe coverage - 135 conditions in all - providing concise, easy-to-read chapters for each condition. Dr. Waldman's practical guidance is designed to help you make the correct diagnosis of uncommon pain syndromes, even the signs and symptoms don't quite fit. Explains each pain syndrome using a consistent, easy-to-follow format: an ICD-10 CM code for billing purposes, followed by a brief description of the signs and symptoms, laboratory and radiographic testing, differential diagnosis, available treatment options, and clinical pearls. Features updated chapters throughout, as well as 12 new chapters covering Hemicrania Continua, Acute Calcific Prevertebral Tendinitis, Sternohyoid Syndrome Snapping Scapula Syndrome, Erythromelagia, Foix-Alajouanine Syndrome, Lumbar Paraspinous Muscle Compartment Syndrome, Clunealgia, Nutcracker Syndrome, Paroxysmal Extreme Pain Disorder, Iliopsoas Tendon Rupture, and Snapping Pes Anserinus Syndrome Provides practitioners and trainees in pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, physical medicine and rehabilitation, primary care, and more with a firm foundation in the diagnosis of uncommon pain in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Bonica's Management of Pain by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain , first published 65 years ago, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago. Broad authorship by researchers and practitioners from the many disciplines that participate in pain medicine, including anesthesiology, neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative care, psychology, social sciences, and more. Addresses the economic, political, legal, ethical, and sociological considerations of pain; evaluation of the pain patient; pain conditions; methods for symptomatic control; and provision of pain treatment. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and tables. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Civetta, Taylor, and Kirby's Manual of Critical Care by
Based on a best-selling reference in critical care medicine, Civetta, Taylor, & Kirby's Manual of Critical Care delivers in a portable, softcover format the information necessary to make sound clinical decisions in the ICU. The Manual begins with crucial guidance to help readers respond quickly and appropriately to emergencies in the ICU, then proceeds to cover the most relevant clinical information in all areas of critical care including critical care monitoring, techniques and procedures, essential physiologic concerns, shock states, pharmacology, surgical critical care, and infectious diseases. What makes the Manual so invaluable? * Reviews of diseases by organ system address the essentials of treating cardiovascular diseases, respiratory disorders, neurologic and gastrointestinal disorders, renal, endocrine, skin and muscle diseases, and hematologic/ oncologic diseases. * Focus on decision-making emphasizes only the most clinically relevant material. * Reader-friendly style includes generous use of tables and bulleted lists to make key facts easy to locate and remember. * Full-color art format enhances visual learning. * Portable size makes the Manual easy to take on rounds, and perfect for a quick consult. Look at all that's new! * NEW section on pharmacology * NEW section on shock states *NEW updated resuscitative algorithms
Essential Echocardiography: a Practical Guide with DVD by
Essential Echocardiography: A Practical Handbookserves as today's premier practical guide to the understanding of the most commonly used cardiac imaging technique in the world. The perfect marriage between anatomy and physiology, the text covers emerging cardiac imaging technologies, advances in ultrasound technology, as well as new techniques and applications of cardiac ultrasound.Essential Echocardiography: A Practical Handbook provides the physiological, anatomical, and diagnostic grounding for all students of cardiac ultrasound, as well as a sound basis for a more general understanding of cardiac imaging. This volume will be of great value to cardiologists in training and practice, internists, and cardiac sonographers."
Essential Echocardiography Transesophageal Echocardiography for Non-cardiac Anesthesiologists by
Written specifically for non-cardiac anesthesiologists
Covers both transesophageal echocardiography (TEE) and transthoracic echocardiography (TTE)
By design, focuses only on those views of practical value to non-cardiac anesthesiologists
Includes 127 echocardiography videos
Essentials of Pain Medicine by
Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4th Edition, by Drs. Honorio T. Benzon, Srinivasa N. Raja, Scott M. Fishman, Spencer S. Liu, and Steven P. Cohen, presents a complete, full-color overview of today's theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain. Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters. Presents the management of pain for every setting where it is practiced, including the emergency room, the critical care unit, and the pain clinic. Features hundreds of diagrams, illustrations, summary charts and tables that clarify key information and injection techniques - now in full color for the first time. Includes the latest best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Discusses recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular pain. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by 
Image-Guided Spine Interventions by
Here is the second, completely revised and updated edition of the successful practical guide to image-guided spine intervention. It contains revised text and images as well as new sections and chapters. The updated text thoroughly discusses both well-established and new interventions that are applied to the spine for the purpose of pain relief.
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Spine by
The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal spinal anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, andstudents in the neurologically-based medical specialties. Truly an ' atlas for the 21st century, ' this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailedoverview of spinal anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities and advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures notpossible with conventional MRI or CT. A series of unique full-color structural images derived from 3D models based on actual images in the book furtherenhances understanding of spinal anatomy and spatial relationships. Written by two neuroradiologists who are also prominent educators, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, andfunction of the human spine. What follows is more than 650 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard andadvanced modalities currently used to visualize the human spine and adjacent structures' including x-ray, fluoroscopy, MRI, CT, CTA, MRA, digitalsubtraction angiography, and ultrasound of the neonatal spine. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide offer a wider window into thespine and allow the reader an unobstructed view of the anatomy presented to inform clinical decisions or enhance understanding of this complex region.Additionally, various anatomic structures can be viewed from modality to modality and from multiple planes. This state-of-the-art atlas elevates conventional anatomic spine topography to the cutting edge of technology. It will serve as an authoritative learningtool in the classroom, and as a crucial practical resource at the workstation or in the office or clinic. Key Features: Provides detailed views of anatomic structures within and around the human spine utilizing over 650 high quality images across a broad range of imaging modalities Contains several examples of the use of imaging anatomic landmarks in the performance of interventional spine procedures Contains extensively labeled images of all regions of the spine and adjacent areas that can be compared and contrasted across modalities Serves as an authoritative learning tool for students and trainees and practical reference for clinicians in multiple specialties
Marino's the ICU Book: Print + Ebook with Updates by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management by
The Third Edition of this highly popular pocket guide presents the state-of-the-art approaches to pain management that are currently taught and practiced at the Massachusetts General Hospital. This edition has new chapters on chronic back pain, pain control in children with chronic and terminal disease, and diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, plus new illustrations of procedures and techniques. All chapters include the latest evidence-based information and coverage of fibromyalgia, psychosomatic complaints, headaches, and opioid cautions has been expanded. Tables and chapter-opening outlines enable readers to find information quickly. A drug appendix and seven other practical appendices are included. Subscribe to Lippincott's Interactive Anesthesia Libraryand get online access to the fully searchable content of eight critically acclaimed references in anesthesiology, critical care, and pain management.
Medical Management of the Surgical Patient by
Now in its fifth edition, Medical Management of the Surgical Patient: A Textbook of Perioperative Medicine has been fully revised and updated and continues to provide an authoritative account of all aspects of perioperative care for surgical patients. Including recommended plans which aid accurate treatment of patients, it provides an evidence-based approach for consulting physicians to care for patients with underlying medical conditions that will affect their surgical management. The latest minimally invasive surgical techniques are included, with new chapters on thoracic aortic disease, reconstruction after cancer ablation, lung transplantation, esophagomyotomy, vasectomy and thyroid malignancies, amongst others. With detailed descriptions of nearly one-hundred operations, highlighting their usual course as well as their common complications, the book encourages learning from experience. This definitive account includes numerous contributions from leading experts at national centers of excellence. It will continue to serve as a significant reference work for internists, hospitalists, anesthesiologists and surgeons.
Medical Quality Management: Theory and Practice by
This new comprehensive resource Medical Quality Management: Theory and Practice addresses the needs of physicians, medical students, and other health care professionals for up to date information about medical quality management. In reviewing the key principles and methods that comprise the current state of medical quality management in U.S. health care, this text provides a concise summary of quality improvement, patient safety and quality measurement methodologies. This textbook also describes the current state of global networks and computing technologies, and provides an overview of ethics, legislation, policy making, accreditation and utilization management techniques as it relates to quality improvement. including general approaches and methods, support systems, regulatory constructs, and common outcomes. Complete with case studies, executive summaries, and figures and tables, this is a necessary guide for all executives and medical directors, academicians and students, as well as all physicians and other health professionals in clinical practice.
Miller's Anesthesia, 2-Volume Set by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. The initial printing of Miller's Anesthesia, 9e contained a dosage error in chapter 26, "Intravenous Drug Delivery Systems," on page 771, Table 26.5 (Manual Infusion Schemes). A maintenance infusion of Dexmedetomidine was mistakenly reported as 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/min instead of 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/hr (or 0.005-0.015 mcg/kg/min). As of October 2, 2020 all stock has been corrected. If you find that you have a book with this error please contact publisher for correction sticker.
Operating Room Leadership and Management by
Effective management of the OR is critical in all clinical settings, where ensuring that policies, systems, staff members and teams are efficient, safe and cost-effective is paramount. Operating Room Leadership and Management is a comprehensive resource for physicians and administrators involved in the day-to-day management of operating rooms in a hospital setting or smaller-scale facilities. Topics include: * OR metrics * Scheduling * Human resource management * Leadership * Economics * IT management * Quality assurance * Recovery. This practical, evidence-based text is written by leaders in the field of OR management and is relevant to medical directors, administrators and managing physicians. Specific nursing considerations, preoperative patient evaluation, financial performance measures and pain clinic management are also discussed in detail. Operating Room Leadership and Management enables all OR managers to improve the efficiency and performance of their operating rooms.
Our Iceberg Is Melting by
The revised and updated tenth anniversary edition of the classic, beloved business fable that has changed millions of lives in organizations around the world. Our Iceberg Is Melting is a simple story about doing well under the stress and uncertainty of rapid change. Based on the award-winning work of Harvard Business School's John Kotter, it can help you and your colleagues thrive during tough times. On an iceberg near the coast of Antarctica, group of beautiful emperor penguins live as they have for many years. Then one curious bird discovers a potentially devastating problem threatening their home--and almost no one listens to him. The characters in the story--Fred, Alice, Louis, Buddy, the Professor, and NoNo--are like people you probably recognize in your own organization, including yourself. Their tale is one of resistance to change and heroic action, seemingly intractable obstacles and clever tactics for dealing with those obstacles. The penguins offer an inspiring model as we all struggle to adapt to new circumstances. Our Iceberg Is Melting is based on John Kotter's pioneering research into the eight steps that can produce needed change in any sort of group. After finishing the story, you'll have a powerful framework for influencing your own team, no matter how big or small. This tenth anniversary edition preserves the text of the timeless story, together with new illustrations, a revised afterword, and a Q&A with the authors about the responses they've gotten over the past decade. Prepare to be both enlightened and delighted, whether you're already a fan of this classic fable or are discovering it for the first time.
Perioperative Medicine by
Provides a comprehensive evidence-based guide to the management of the growing population of patients who require perioperative care Perioperative Medicine: Medical Consultation and Co-Management is the first comprehensive reference text developed specifically for hospitalists but envisioned also to help internists, anesthesiologists, allied health professionals, fellows, residents, and medical students manage various aspects of the medical care of the surgical patient. The book features both the preoperative and postoperative medical management of the surgical patient. It focuses on systems, operations, quality of perioperative care, and preoperative assessment of the patient, all in consideration with system-specific risk and evidence-based strategies that minimize risk. It places special emphasis on care of the older hospitalized surgical patient and offers a thorough discussion of post-operative conditions and their management. Chapters cover vital topics such as: Hospitalist as a Medical Consultant Co-Management of the Surgical Patient Preoperative Evaluation Improving the Quality and Outcomes of Perioperative Care Developing, Implementing, and Operating a Preoperative Clinic Assessing and Managing Risk of Major Organ Systems Assessing and Managing Disorders for Surgery Postoperative Care and Co-Management by Surgery Type Managing Common Postoperative Conditions With the core responsibilities of perioperative care falling more and more on the shoulders of hospitalists, internists, and allied health professionals, Perioperative Medicine is a much-needed guide for managing the clinical and operational issues associated with caring for hospitalized surgical patients.
Point of Care Ultrasound by
BMA President's Choice Award Winner and Highly Commended in Internal Medicine category at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2015 With portable, hand-carried ultrasound devices being more frequently implemented in medicine today, Point-of-Care Ultrasound will be a welcome resource for any physician or health care practitioner looking to further their knowledge and skills in point-of-care ultrasound. This comprehensive, portable handbook offers an easy-access format that combines electronic content and peer-reviewed videos to provide comprehensive, non-specialty-specific guidance on this ever-evolving technology. Access all the facts with focused chapters covering a diverse range of topics, as well as case-based examples that include ultrasound scans and videos. Understand the pearls and pitfalls of point-of-care ultrasound through contributions from experts at more than 30 institutions. View techniques more clearly than ever before. Illustrations and photos include transducer position, cross-sectional anatomy, ultrasound cross sections, and ultrasound images. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to watch more than 200 ultrasound videos from real-life patients that demonstrate key findings; these videos are complemented by anatomical illustrations and text descriptions to maximize learning. You'll also be able to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Management of Pain by
Obtain all the core knowledge in pain management you need from one of the most trusted resources in the field. The new edition of Practical Management of Pain gives you completely updated, multidisciplinary overview of every aspect of pain medicine, including evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. In print and online, it is all the expert guidance necessary to offer your patients the best possible relief. "I would recommend this textbook for all clinicians involved in acute, chronic, and cancer pain medicine. It is a book that I enjoyed reading read from cover to cover, but it would be equally good being dipped into selectively as an aid memoir or when preparing a presentation." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, Feb 2015 Understand and apply the latest developments in pain medicine with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, chronic widespread pain, and burn pain. Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics). Access up-to-the-minute knowledge on all aspects of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques, with contributions from renowned experts in the field. Read the full text and view all the images online at expertconsult.com. Understand and apply the latest developments in pain management with brand-new chapters covering disability assessment, central post-stroke pain, widespread chronic pain, and burn pain. Effectively ease your patients' pain with today's best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents (such as topical analgesics).
Radiology Illustrated Spine by
Radiology Illustrated: Spine is an up-to-date, superbly illustrated reference in the style of a teaching file that has been designed specifically to be of value in clinical practice. Common, critical, and rare but distinctive spinal disorders are described succinctly with the aid of images highlighting important features and informative schematic illustrations. The first part of the book, on common spinal disorders, is for radiology residents and other clinicians who are embarking on the interpretation of spinal images. A range of key disorders are then presented, including infectious spondylitis, cervical trauma, spinal cord disorders, spinal tumors, congenital disorders, uncommon degenerative disorders, inflammatory arthritides, and vascular malformations. The third part is devoted to rare but clinically significant spinal disorders with characteristic imaging features, and the book closes by presenting practical tips that will assist in the interpretation of confusing cases.
Resident's Handbook of Medical Quality and Safety by
Drive to provide high value healthcare has created a field of medical quality improvement and safety. A Quality Improvement (QI) project would often aim in translate medical evidence (e.g. hand hygiene saves lives) into clinical practice (e.g. actually washing your hands before you see the patient, suffice it to say that not all hospitals are able to report 100% compliance with hand-hygiene). All doctoral residents in the United States must now satisfy a new requirement from the American College of Graduate Medical Education that they participate in a QI initiative. However, few departments are equipped to help their residents develop and implement a QI initiative. Resident's Handbook is a short, not fussy, and practical introduction to developing a QI initiative. Meant not only for residents seeking to jump-start a QI initiative but also for attending physicians looking to improve their clinical practice, residency program directors and even medical students already eyeing what residency training holds for them; the book introduces and explains the basic tools needed to conduct a QI project. It provides numerous real-life examples of QI projects by the residents, fellows and attendings who designed them, who discuss their successes and failures as well as the specific tools they used. Several chapters provide a more senior perspective on resident involvement in QI projects and feature contributions from several QI leaders, a hospital administration VP and a residency program director. Though originally designed with physicians in mind, the book will also be helpful for physician assistants, nurses, physical, occupational and speech language pathology therapists, as well as students in these disciplines. Since no QI intervention is likely to be successful if attempted in isolation more non-physician clinicians are joining the ranks of quality and safety leadership. Therefore several non-physician clinician led initiatives included in the manuscript constitute an integral part of this book. The book serves as a short introduction to the field of medical quality improvement and safety emphasizing the practical pointers of how to actually implement a project from its inception to publication. To our knowledge this is the first concise do-it-yourself publication of its kind. Some of the topics covered include: how to perform an efficient literature search, how to get published, how to scope a project, how to generate improvement ideas, effective communication, team, project management and basic quality improvement tools like PDCA, DMAIC, Lean, Six Sigma, human factors, medical informatics etc.. Although no substitute for the services of a trained clinical statistician, chapters on statistics and critical assessment of the medical literature familiarizes residents with basic statistical methodologies, clinical trials and evidence based medicine (EBM). Since no QI project is complete without providing evidence for post-intervention improvement we provide a short introduction to the free statistical language R, which helps residents independently run basic statistical calculations. Because much of QI involves assessment of subjective human experiences, there is also a chapter on how to write surveys. Resident's Handbook of Medical Quality and Safety is not an exhaustive QI textbook but rather a hands-on pocket guide to supplement formal training by other means.
Spinal Imaging and Image Analysis by
This book is instrumental to building a bridge between scientists and clinicians in the field of spine imaging by introducing state-of-the-art computational methods in the context of clinical applications. Spine imaging via computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, and other radiologic imaging modalities, is essential for noninvasively visualizing and assessing spinal pathology. Computational methods support and enhance the physician's ability to utilize these imaging techniques for diagnosis, non-invasive treatment, and intervention in clinical practice. Chapters cover a broad range of topics encompassing radiological imaging modalities, clinical imaging applications for common spine diseases, image processing, computer-aided diagnosis, quantitative analysis, data reconstruction and visualization, statistical modeling, image-guided spine intervention, and robotic surgery. This volume serves a broad audience as contributions were written by both clinicians and researchers, which reflects the intended readership as well, being a potentially comprehensive book for all spine related clinicians, technicians, scientists, and graduate students.
Atlas of Spine Imaging by
This concise, yet detailed collection of images offers complete guidance on CT, MR, and nuclear medicine imaging for all aspects of common and uncommon spinal diseases. In addition to annotated illustrations, the text provides background information on each disease entity, a detailed approach to the interpretation of images, and specific recommendations for reporting. Discusses and illustrates trauma, neoplasms, infections, and congenital and developmental anomalies. Provides detailed discussions of spondylolysis. Examines degenerative diseases in detail. Explains and illustrates current terminology for degenerative diseases according to the guidelines of the North American Spine Society and the American Society of Neuroradiology. Evaluates post-operative complications and associated imaging findings. Features algorithms and tables to illustrate key concepts. Emphasizes algorithmic work-ups of tumors and suspected infections to promote correct categorization of findings. Uses a logical organization for easy access to information, with tumors arranged in the traditional neuroradiology/neurosurgery differential categories.
Cancer Pain by
This new, single-volume reference offers you today's best knowledge on successfully treating cancer pain. It covers everything from the initial evaluation of the patient with cancer pain to the final hours. Chapter after chapter, you'll find a wealth of information on the latest developments in pharmacological therapy · management of side effects and complications · the use of opiods and adjuvants · invasive techniques for the management of cancer pain · and alternative medicine therapies. Features a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to cancer pain-from top international cancer centers. Covers the latest pharmacologic treatments as well as the recent advances in the management of side effects and complications associated with oral pharmacological therapy. Provides step-by-step instructions for invasive pain techniques. Discusses intraspinal analgesia, resulting in better pain relief and a lower incidence of side effects and complications for patients who have had little success with the use of pharmacological therapy. Includes discussions on the benefits as well as side effects of alternative medicine, including acupuncture, herbal therapies, and message therapy. Examines the advantages of cancer pain treatment by psychologists, physical therapists, occupational therapists, and nutritionists. Presents complete palliative care protocols and recipes for every symptom and major organ system.
Image-Guided Spine Intervention by
This book provides all the information necessary to perform today's full range of image-guided interventional procedures for the alleviation of spine and back pain. Over 625 spectacular illustrations and images--combined with careful, step-by-step instructions show precisely how to perform each technique and avoid complications. Coverage includes important techniques such as facet joint and sacroiliac joint injections, vertebroplasty, discography, and intradiscal electrothermal therapy (IDET). Each chapter addresses a specific procedure, consistently covering pertinent anatomy · patient selection criteria · contraindications · equipment · medications · step-by-step procedural instructions · potential complications · post-procedure care · and follow-up guidelines All chapters conclude with informative case studies, relevant CPT® codes, references, and commentaries by an expert neurosurgeon. Hundreds of superb, full-color anatomical photographs-plus razor-sharp radiographs and MR and CT images-reproduce exactly what readers will see when performing each procedure. A full chapter examines the contrast agents, anesthetics, and steroids used during spinal procedures.
Textbooks that are used by the residency program, but are not available in the Library
The Practical Lean Six Sigma Pocket Guide for Healthcare by