Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Asian Studies: Chinese

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea. Resources marked
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies

Chinese

Dictionaries

  • 汉语大字典
    Call number: Langson EA Ref PL1420 .H3494 1986
    The most comprehensive Chinese dictionary so far with 54,678 unique active Chinese characters
  • 现代汉语词典 : 汉英双语 = The Contemporary Chinese Dictionary : Chinese-English Edition
    Call number:
    Langson EA Ref PL1420 .X535 2002
    A good quality dictionary with up-to-date Chinese vocabularies annotated in both Chinese and English
  • 林語堂當代漢英詞典Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage (Lin Yutang)
    A useful dictionary with usage information compiled by a well-known Chinese scholar, writer and linguist. The online version, developed by City University of Hong Kong, supports traditional Chinese search, browse and display.
  • 阿帕比(Apabi)中国工具书资源全文数据库系统 *
    Provides full-text search and access to nearly 55 titles of Chinese dictionaries, including 汉语大词典,辞海,成语大词典,汉字异读字典,英汉-汉英医学新词语,英汉国际金融大辞典...
  • 学中文 MDBG English-Chinese Dictionary
    Supports search and display in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese; also browsable by radical/strokes
  • 中文.com
    Supports search in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese; also browsable by radical/strokes
  • Lexiconer English-Chinese/Chinese-English Dictionaries
    Supports search in English, Pinyin as well as traditional and simplified Chinese
  • Chinese Character Dictionary
    Search and browsing in English, Pinyin, Cantonese, radical/strokes as well as traditional and simplified Chinese

Input Method Editor (IME)

  • Microsoft Global IME for Chinese
    Allows various input methods, including Pinyin and mouse-facilitated handwriting (IME Pad). You may learn how to install and configure IME at Microsoft Web site.
  • http://www.nciku.com/ 
    Allows inputting Chinese by (1)
    mouse-facilitated handwriting (either Simplified or Traditional), and (2) browsing by radical/strokes. Also provides Pinyin with tone and speech audio.
  • http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/ime.html
    Allows inputting Chinese by
    mouse-facilitated handwriting (Java support required) or using Pinyin.

Add Pinyin to Chinese Texts

  • MDBG Chinese Text Annotator
    Supports reading Chinese texts by adding Pinyin below the texts. English definitions could be added as well.
  • DimSun Chinese Tools
    Supports reading Chinese texts by adding Pinyin to Chinese text files and Web pages. Need to download and install the application.
  • Add Pinyin to File
    Helps you learn to read Chinese by adding Pinyin next to Chinese Characters in files

Character Converters

Miscellaneous