Skip to Main Content

Asian Studies

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea. Resources marked

Email this link:

Research Librarian For Asian Studies

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

Resources by Subject

ARTstor
Michael Lewis East Asian Image Collection
National Palace Museum Online
Asia Art Archive
Old Images of Asia
MIT's Visualising [Asian] Cultures
阿帕比图片库
台灣美術展覽會資料庫 (1927-1943)
台灣舊照片資料庫
美術新報 Access via JapanKnowledge to the artl magazine from the early 20th century of Japan
Unpinning History--Japanese Posters in the Age of Commercialism, Imperialism, and Modernism An online exhibit highlighting USC Libraries unique collection of Japanese posters that were produced in the 1910s and 1920s. . The themes include commercial and social activities, particularly tourism; the ideology of imperial modernity; beautiful women as an aesthetic category; exhibition culture; and pictorial and often hybrid styles and functions ranging from neo-traditionalism derived from ukiyo-e (“pictures of the floating world”) to modernism.
Japanese Posters held at the Library of Congress Lists 600 out of 1000 Japanese posters, that have been cataloged so far (eventually this link will leads to the entire collection). Some of them have been digitized and are viewable online or offline (a check box is available above the list for listing digitized posters only).
NCC's Japan Art Catalog Project
JAANUS - Terminology of Japanese Architecture and Art History
The Ohara Institute Poster Collection
Early Photography of Japan at Harvard
毎日フォトバンク
Korean Contemporary Arts Archive (Akive) This is an archives of Korea's modern art, provides artist search with profile and their major works, exhibitions with high resolution display, and space information with location. Don't need registration for searching and browsing.
한국예술디지털아카이브 Korea Digital Archives for the Arts

See also Visual Arts Subject Guide

Asian Film Online
Chinese Filmscript and Advertisement Collection 1946-1985
Index of 311 Documentary films archive. Currently, not every film indexed is in DVD format, or for sale
Kanopy To get to EA language streaming videos, the first step is to click on "Browse Subjects" to choose "Film & Popular", and then "Foreign Language" Film from the menu. Once on the new page, scroll down and locate the Languages menu on the left.
中文電影資料庫
幻燈データベース(Theatre Museum at Waseda Univ.)
日本映画データベース
アニメ大全 Japanese Animation Database Developed by the Association of Japanese Animation (AJA), the Japanese Animation Database 「アニメ大全」 indexes mostly commercial animation works since 1917.
黒澤デジタルアーカイブ
Kinema Club
映画資料所在地情報検索システム(JFROL) The Japan Film Resources Online is an integrated database for searching film resources (poster, pamphlet, photo, scenario, magazine, book, etc..) , holding institutions and contact information.
Koreanfilm.org movie reviews, news...
Korean Film Archive (KOFA)
Korean Film Council (KOFIC)
Korean Classic Films (KMDB) Sign up is required - Send e-mail to 'kofa@koreafilm.or.kr' for signing up. - You should attach 1 copy of the document that can be identified (ID card, driver's license, passport copy, alien registration card, etc.)
Korean Film Youtube Channel (by KOFA) Users can watch 151 Korean films without any kind of restrictions. It keeps growing its available films.

See also Film & Media Subject Guide

Bucklin China Archive - Looking at China in 1924
China, Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives, at the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.
China Historical Geographical Information System (GIS) from Harvard University
Chinese Pamphlets (1947-1954)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1941-1996)
Japanese Historical Maps
Korean Genealogical Tables
London Missionary Society Collection Online
(台灣)日治時期圖書全文影像系統
(超星)地方志库
(超星)文史资料库
（超星）中国文史资料集粹
人民政协文史资料专题库
Indexes for Wenshi Ziliao (Princeton University)
ProQuest Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) The Canton times (1919-1920) -- The China critic (1939-1946) -- China monthly review (1950-1953) -- The China Press (1925-1938) -- The China Weekly Review (1923-1950) -- The Chinese recorder (1912-1938) -- The Chinese recorder and educational review (1939-1941) -- The Chinese recorder and missionary journal (1868-1912) -- The Chinese repository (1832-1851) -- Millard's China National Review (1919-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919) -- Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921) -- The North-China Herald (1850-1867) -- The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869) -- The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941) -- Peking daily news (1914-1917), English ed. -- Peking gazette (1915-1917) -- The Peking leader (1918-1919) -- The Shanghai gazette (1919-1921) -- The Shanghai Times (1914-1921) -- The Weekly Review (1922-1923) -- The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922)
Virtual Shanghai: Shanghai Urban Space in Time
中国方志库（爱如生） Access 4,000 Chinese local gazetteers published from Song Dynasty to the Republic Era. Series 1 & 2 only.
中共党史期刊数据库 (1921-1949)
晚清民国时期期刊全文库 (1833-1949)
大成老旧刊(1883-1949)
申報 (1872-1949)
中华文明之时空基础构架 Chinese Civilization in Time and Space
明實錄、朝鮮王朝實錄、清實錄資料庫（中央研究院）
漢籍電子文獻資料庫（中央研究院歷史語言研究所） Open access (免費試用）only.
慈林教育基金會典藏台灣社運史料
抗日战争与近代中日关系文献数据库 open access collection of books, journals, newspapers, documents, audio and visual materials, and archival materials on this topic.
国史大系 Access via JapanKnowledge to a collection of important historical sources of Japan.
近現代史料データベース [Political History of Japan Database] an aggregation of digital archives with growing contents with a special focus on post-war Japanese political and economic history.
NHK戦争証言アーカイブス
アジア歴史資料センターJapan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR)
国立公文書館 National Archives of Japan Digital Archives (NAJDA)
占領期新聞・雑誌記事情報データベース 1945年～1949年
中川家文書 (神戸大学)
電子版貴重書コレクション (東京大学)
女性関連資料 (奈良女子大学)
鎌倉遺文 Access, via JapanKnowledge, Kamakura Ibun, a complete collection of all roughly 36,000 antique texts from the Kamakura period (1185–1333).
東寺百合文書WEB
The Bibliography of East Asian Periodicals (Colonial Korea)
국가기록포털 National Archives Portal Service
대동문화연구원 Daedong Culture Research Center
한국역대인물종합정보시스템 (Korean historical people information system)
한국 역사 문화 조사 자료 데이터베이스 Korean History & Culture Research Database
한국역사정보통합시스템 Korean History Online
국사편찬위원회 전자사료관 The Archives of Korean History

See also History Subject Guide

開放文學
中国现代文学研究网（香港中文大学）
香港文學資料庫（香港中文大學圖書館）
国立台湾文学馆电子资源整合查询系统
智慧型全臺詩知識庫 (1593-1988)
世界華文文學資料庫
日本国文学研究資料館データベース
青空文庫
more...less...
enhanced platform at http://snort.uchicago.edu/philologic/aozora/
声の図書室
日本近代文学館 * Access via JapanKnowledge to a wide range of modern Japanese literature manuscripts and literature magazines, including 太陽、文芸倶楽部、近代作家原稿集.
近代文学作家自筆資料集*
太宰治自筆資料集 Dazai Osamu Jihitsu Shiryōshū *
三田文学 Mita Bungaku*
J-Texts日本文学電子図書館
Japanese Text Initiative (U. of Virginia and U. of Pittsburgh)
日本ペンクラブ電子文藝館
館蔵の江戸文学資料 (名古屋大学)
国文学研究資料館電子資料館
Japanese Literature in Translation Search (1868-)
Korean Short Story Index
Korean Literature 1945-1950
English Translations of Korean Literature Published since 2000
English Translations of Korean Literature (1996-2001)

See also Comparative Literature Subject Guide

（爱如生）中国基本古籍库 concurrent access restriction may apply.
四库全书 (文渊阁版） IE Browser only
四部丛刊 (上海涵芬楼版) A fully searchable collection of the authoritative editions of the 504 original and historical monographs (3,134 volumes) published by the Commercial Press in 1919-1936.
古今图书集成 The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China gathers all the most important classics from ancient China to Qing Dynasty including works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images.
中國哲學書電子化計劃 Chinese Text Project World's largest full-text database of pre-modern Chinese texts. Open access.
全國漢籍データベース (日本藏)
東京大学東洋文化研究所漢籍善本全文影像資料庫
電子版自然真営道 (東京大学)

See also Philosophy Subject Guide

EPS China Data
阿帕比中国年鉴资源全文数据库
中华人民共和国国家统计局统计数据
中国社会学网
中国国情网
日本政府統計の総合窓口 (e-Stat)
国立国会図書館リサーチ.ナビ a portal developed by National Diet Library of Japan for finding information related to economy, education and society in Japan.
Social Science Japan Data Archive (SSJDA) need registration to use it
KOSIS 국가통계포털 National Statistical Portal

See also Sociology and Social Science Data Subject Guides

China Laws and Regulations Database 中国法律法规数据库 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of policies and laws of China. The database provides information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. It holds records covering a comprehensive range of Chinese policies, regulations and laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward.

See also Political Science Subject Guide