Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Business: Publishing Tools  

Your comprehensive station for UCI's business research content and beyond!
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/business


What does it all mean?

 

Scholarship is a conversation, and you want your voice to be heard!  The resources in these tabs help ALL researchers in the UC system (faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergrads), participate in scholarly communication.

 

  • About UC Open Access
    Understand what OA is, what the UC System's policies are, and why that's important to you.

     
  • Manage Your Publications 
    Put your stuff in our online repositories to share it easily with others.

     
  • Manage Your Data
    Store data you create in online repositories to share it easily with others.

     
  • Manage Your Author Identity
    Make sure people find your research, regardless of whether you change your name or have the same name as other people. 

     
  • Get Your Research Impact Metrics
    Quantify how much impact your research has within your discipline. 

About UC Open Access

Tip
Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles,
coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. - SPARC

Open vs Closed Access (PDF)
Green vs Gold OA models (PDF)

UC OA Policies
These policies mean that research from the 10 UC campuses will be made available to the public at no charge. 
2015:  The UC Office of the President issues a policy covering UC employees who are not Academic Senate faculty
2013:  The UC Academic Senate passed an OA Policy covering Senate-represented faculty

  • This excellent FAQ gets you started on understanding how the policies work, and what to do when you publish research. 

 

UC System: Copyright Guide
An easy-to-use guide by the UC Regents to help you quickly understand copyright policies and laws, and how to apply them to academic and scholarly work.

 

eScholarship
This the UC System's OA repository and publishing platform, where researchers deposit their work in support of the policies.  It allows for publishing Books, Journals, Working Papers, Conference Proceedings, etc. 

  • Features another great FAQ list, which explains a lot about how to use the repository.   

Manage Publications

 

UC Publication Management System
Think of this as the "back end" engine that powers the eScholarship Repository.  Claim publications you've already authored (the System finds them automatically), or upload your new research work. 

 

eScholarship: Economics Department
The UCI Economics Department's instance within the UC System's Open Access repository and publishing platform.  It allows for publishing Books, Journals, Working Papers, Conference Proceedings, etc. 

  • Features another great FAQ list, which explains a lot about how to use the repository. 
     

UC3
The University of California Curation Center helps researchers and the UC libraries manage, preserve, and provide access to their important digital assets. Tools/services include:

  • Merritt- is a repository service to manage, archive, and share valuable digital content
  • EZID- (easy-eye-dee) create and manage unique, persistent identifiers (including DOI's)
  • Web Archiving Service- capture, analyze, archive and publish web sites and documents
  • dash-  describe, upload, and share research data
  • DMPTool- create and manage data management plans
     

UCI Webfiles
2 GB of disk space provided by the Office of Information Technology (OIT) to UCI faculty, staff, and graduate students. Store copies of important documents (e.g. papers, theses, dissertations, graphics), publish a personal home page, and collaborate with colleagues.


Manage Data

 

UC3
The University of California Curation Center helps researchers and the UC libraries manage, preserve, and provide access to their important digital assets. Tools/services include:

  • dash-  an open data publication platform for researchers
  • DMPTool- create and manage "Data Management Plans," e.g. those required by the NSF. 
  • EZID- (easy-eye-dee) create and manage unique, persistent identifiers (including DOI's)
  • Merritt- a preservation repository for mediated deposits by UC organizations
  • Web Archiving- capture, analyze, archive and publish web sites and documents

 

ICPSR Data Archive
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research.  International group of  750+ academic institutions and research organizations.  Maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social sciences, and offers data curation services. 

 

IQSS Dataverse Network
From the Institute for Quantitative Social Sciences at Harvard , a source for depositing research data.  Visit the UCI Social Science Data Archives on DataVerse. 

 

RunMyCode
A cloud-based platform that enables scientists to openly share the code and data that underlie their research publications. Researchers create a companion website associated with a paper. The companion website provides the code and data that allow people to implement the methodology and replicate the results.  Welcomes multiple research areas including social sciences.

Manage Your Identity

 

ORCID
Open Researcher and Contributor ID. ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-driven effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers.

 

Researcher ID
Create a unique identifier that can be linked to your ORCID identifier.  ResearcherID is from Thomson Reuters, which also provides the Web of Science database. WoS is a comprehensive research index, with access to bibliographic and citation information across all academic disciplines.

 

Google Scholar Citations Profile
Provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. Authors can make their profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name

 

Get Research Impact Metrics
 

Impact of an Author's Work

 

Web of Science
WoS allows for finding authors' research articles, tracking their citations, and creating reports.  

It uses citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.  Includes both the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), and the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

  • Learn this search!
    (sample search for the number of citations of Jane Goodall's articles, published in one journal)

 

Google Scholar Citations
A publicly available alternative to Web of Science for tracking citations.  There is vigorous debate over whether to use a more traditional citation metric tool like Web of Science vs Google Scholar. When in doubt, get citation data from both resources.  

Impact of a Journal

 

Journal Citation Reports
A module within the Incites platform that allows for evaluating and comparing journals.

It uses citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries.  Includes both the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), and the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)

(Each annual release provides the prior year's data.)

  • Click here for the complete PDF 2016 list of titles covered in JCR. 

 

 


 

Loading

Connect

Connect To

Electronic & Print Content