Research Guides: Asian Studies: Chinese Books, Articles...

Research Librarian For Asian Studies

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions, or wish to set up a meeting outside of my available times, please email me and we will work something out.

Subjects: Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

Online Resources (in Chinese) by Type

Duxiu 读秀 This link opens in a new window An integrated system which allows full-text search, browse and request document delivery for millions of books, and selective journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, and more.
AiritiBooks 華藝中文電子書 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to a growing number of Chinese e-books mainly from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. Offline reading requires sign-up/sign-in and installation of iRead.
Limited simultaneous user access. Try again later if refused.
Chinamaxx Digital Libraries 中文集献（超星） This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to a growing number of Chinese e-books in various fields. Rich in books from Minguo and early PRC years, including Wenshi Ziliao and Difangzhi.
Use http://uclibs.org/PID/220727 for Difangzhi, and http://uclibs.org/PID/220728 for Wenshi Ziliao
Ereading: China E-book Hub 易阅通 This link opens in a new window Access to an increasing number of e-books and a limited number of audio-books published in China.
Apabi 电子图书资源库 This link opens in a new window Provides access to an increasing number of Chinese e-books published in China from 1952 onward in various areas of humanities and social sciences. Full-text searchable.
Zhongguo Jindai Tushu Quanwen Shujuku 中國近代圖書全文數據庫 (1840-1949) This link opens in a new window Books of Modern China (1840-1949) includes thousands of digitized books from China’s late Qing dynasty and Republican era.
Wenshi Ziliao Jicui 文史资料库集萃 This link opens in a new window The database contains searchable full-texts of about 20,000 volumes of historical accounts of past events. One may also browse by geographical location.
Zhongguo Jiben Gujiku 中国基本古籍库 This link opens in a new window By far the largest Chinese classics database (three times of Siku Quanshu), it provides access to significant (and rare editions of) Chinese classics and historical documents across thousands of years of Chinese history. Our access also includes 方志库.
Maximum 3 users at once. Try again later in denied access.
Zhonghua Jingdian Gujiku 中华经典古籍库 This link opens in a new window Full-text searchable database of over a thousand well-known Chinese classics edited and published by Zhonghua Book Company.
Siku Quanshu 四库全书 (文渊阁版） This link opens in a new window A collection of works of history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and others from ancient China. Allows searching in full-text, title, author and annotation fields in 经, 史, 子, 集.
Use the button next to "使用授權 IP 位址" to login.
Sibu Congkan 四部丛刊 (上海涵芬楼版) This link opens in a new window A fully searchable collection of the authoritative editions of the original and historical books covering Song, Yuan, Ming, and Qing Dynasties.
To access, click on the 數字叢書 link.
Gujin Tushu Jicheng 古今圖書集成 This link opens in a new window Provides access to the most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture, from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more.
Taiwan Wenxian Congkan 臺灣文獻叢刊 This link opens in a new window Primary sources on Taiwan, which "incorporates local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qing and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. Much of the content is comprised of sole copies and rare out-of-print books."
Free version at http://tcss.ith.sinica.edu.tw/

中国国家数字图书馆 Increasing number of open access resources and restricted resources for people with NLC library card (require in-person application with government issued card for Chinese)
CADAL数字图书馆 Provides access to manuscripts, rare print resources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives from the 18th to early 20th centuries. Registration is needed to maximize the access.
东京大学东洋文化研究所所藏汉籍善本全文影像资料库 Provides fulltext access to thousands of Chinese rare books published before PRC that are collected at the Institute.
中央研究院漢籍電子文獻資料庫 Registration is needed to use selective databases, such as 近代史全文資料庫 and 臺灣文獻叢刊
中國哲學書電子化計劃 Includes digitized Harvard Yenching rare books. Fulltext searchable.
漢リポ Kanseki Repository Digital Chinese classics for researchers from researchers. Similar to cText.

Also try these large e-book systems, which provide a fairly good number of East Asian books in full-text --

Google Books Log in with your Google account for a maximized access
HathiTrust Provides access to an increasing number of Eastern and Western language materials. Institutional login (i.e., UCI NetID and Password) is highly recommended for full access.
WorldCat To search books, journals (not individual journal articles) and other materials (e.g. multimedia, maps) held by more than 10000 libraries world-wide. You may use Chinese, Japanese, or Korean (CJK) characters to search.
Quanwen Faxian 全文发现
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) access to digitized books, journals, newspapers etc. please make sure to use VPN login when off-campus to take full advantage of our member access.

Note:For articles that can be obtained neither from any of the databases listed below nor other holding libraries in North America, you may use East Asian Gateway Service of Chinese Academic Journal Publications, a free fulltext delivery service. Full-text articles are transmitted electronically via the Internet from the participating libraries in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan.

China Academic Journals 中国学术期刊网 This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to China academic journals in various humanities and social science areas. Some journals have early issues back to 1915. English citations are searchable as well.
Chinese interface at https://chn.oversea.cnki.net/index/
China Online Journals 中国学术期刊数据库 This link opens in a new window Access to Chinese and English journals published in China after 1997, covering the areas of art & humanities, business & economics, law & politics, and social sciences.
Chaoxing Qikan 超星期刊 This link opens in a new window The Superstar Journals Database provides access to articles from over 6,500 Chinese journals in humanities, social science, science and medicines.
China Conference Proceedings Database 中国学术会议文献数据库 This link opens in a new window Part of Wanfang Data, provides access to conference proceedings in both Chinese and English since 1982.
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new window Includes full text articles from periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science from 1991 to current, depending on the titles. The alternative titles in English also are searchable.
National Social Science Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库 This link opens in a new window Provides open access to 842 journals, among which 816 are core, that are published by some 550 research institutes and universities in China under the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. Year Coverage 2012 to present.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database 晚清民国时期期刊全文库 (1833-1949) This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to Shanghai Library's digitized collection of thousands of journals published during China's Late Qing and Republican Period (1833-1949).
Dacheng Laojiukan 大成老旧刊 (1883-1949) This link opens in a new window An essential tool for researching modern China, the full-text database provides access to scanned image files of articles from thousands of journals published in the Late Qing and Minguo period.
National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 全国报刊索引 (1833-1992) This link opens in a new window Search article level citations from newspapers and journals covering the periods of late Qing, Minguo and the first 43 years of the Peoples' Republic of China. Full-texts requests submitted by UCI faculty and students are handled by the Research Librarian for Asian Studies.
Zhonggong Dangshi Qikan Shujuku 中共党史期刊数据库 (1921-1949) This link opens in a new window Access to historical Chinese Communist Party (CCP) journals.

香港中文期刊論文索引Hong Kong Index to Chinese Periodicals Developed at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the database indexes 300+ kinds of journals at the article level that have been published in Hong Kong since 1980. Some fulltext articles could be downloaded at no charge.
Hong Kong Journals Online It is a full-text image database covering selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese. It is provided by the University of Hong Kong Libraries.

Apabi 数字报纸 This link opens in a new window Covers 26 major Chinese newspapers, including 人民日报(2009-), 光明日报(2013-),文汇报(2012-), 解放军报(2009-),中国经济时报(2012-),检察日报(2008-),人民法院报(2009-),南方都市报(2007-),中国青年报(2012-),北京日报(2005-),中国知识产权报(2010-),中国医药报(2007-),中国体育报(2007-),中国教育报(2008-),中国妇女报(2008-),新民晚报(2007-),经济参考报(2008-),羊城晚报(2007-),重庆日报(2007-) and 南方周末(1984-)
WiseNews 慧科资讯 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers and other media sources from China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. About two thirds of the titles are in Chinese and one third is in English.
UDNdata 聯合知識庫 This link opens in a new window Provides searchable full-text articles in the following newspapers: 聯合報(1951-), 經濟日報, (1978-), 民生報 (1988-), 聯合晚報 (1993-), 星報 (1999-2006) from Taiwan, 歐洲日報 (2000-) from Europe, and 美洲世界日報 (2000-) from North America.
Jindai Baozhi Shujuku 近代报纸数据库 (1841-1949) This link opens in a new window Provided by the National Library of China, the database provides full-text access to hundreds of historical Chinese newspapers from the Late Qing and Republican of China eras.
Allows only 5 concurrent users. Try again later if you cannot access.
Chinese Newspapers of Modern China (1893-1949) This link opens in a new window Access to 新闻报, Sin Wan Pao, 1893~1949, 民国日报, The Republican Daily, 1916~1949 , 时报, The Eastern Times 1904~1939, Central Daily News 《中央日报》 1928~1949,Yi Shih Pao 《益世报》 1915~1949, & Ta Kung Pao 《大公报》 1902~1949/1952.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949) This link opens in a new window This collection provides perspective on the state of the country after the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and with the establishment of China’s first post-imperial government, the Republic of China. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland.
North-China Daily News & Herald Newspapers and Hong Lists 字林洋行中英文报纸全文数据库 (1850-1951) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the English and Chinese newspapers of The North-China Herald《北华捷报》, The North-China Daily News《字林西报》, The Chinese Shipping List & Advertiser《上海新报》, Hu Bao《沪报》, Han Bao《汉报》, Xiao Xian Bao《消闲报》, and The North-China Desk Hong List《字林西报行名录》published by The North-China Daily News & Herald, Limited.
People's Daily 人民日报 (1946-) This link opens in a new window Chinese edition of The People's Daily, from issue 1 (1946) to the present. Full-text searchable and browsable.
Xiao Bao 小报 (1897-1949) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to hundreds of titles of (non-mainstream) tabloids from China's late Qing and Minguo periods.
Shen Bao 申报 (1872-1949) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text searching and browsing of the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China.
Zhongyang Ribao 中央日報 (1928-2006) This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 80 years (1928-2006) of news archive of the Chinese Nationalist Government official publication.
Taiwan Riri Xinbao 臺灣日日新報 (漢文版) This link opens in a new window A browsable newspaper archive from Taiwan under Japanese rule (1905-1911).

香港舊報紙 (1881-1991) Fulltext access to digitized archives of 14 Chinese and English newspapers published in Hong Kong . They are 香港工商日報 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 – 1984/11/30)*，香港工商晚報 (Chinese) (1930/11/16 – 1984/11/29)*，華僑日報 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 – 1991/12/31)*，香港華字日報 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 – 1940/12/31)*，香港華字晚報 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 – 1938/01/27)*，大公報 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 –1991/12/31)*，天光報 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 - 1940/11/30)*，遐邇貫珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 – 1856/05)*，循環日報 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 - 1886/01/30)*，China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29)*，Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 – 1941/09/30)*，Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 – 1950/10/29)*，Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 – 1951/03/30)* , and Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 – 1909/12/24)*.
Old HK newspapers a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays
Historical Chinese Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) CRL provides a increasing number of historical newspapers from China, such as Da Gong Bao, Shi Bao, Shi Shi Xin Bao, Nan Fang Bao, Xin Wen Bao, and Zhong Yang Ri Bao. More can be found through browsing this list sorted by cities and regions. Here are the Hong Kong list and Taiwan list. As a UCI affiliate, you are eligible to borrow these newspaper reprints. Just Request them in Melvyl.

Moving Images

Chinese film/video records in Library Search Include multimedia resources either online or at MRC

Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window Offers a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, offering perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. This collection provides a view on Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.

Academic Video Online (AVON) user language filter to access hundreds of Chinese films
Kanopy To get to EA language streaming videos, the first step is to click on "Browse Subjects" to choose "Film & Popular", and then "Foreign Language" Film from the menu. Once on the new page, scroll down and locate the Languages menu on the left
DocuSeek2 Limit Language to Mandarin on the Advanced Search interface to find dozens of Chinese documentary films.
（台灣）數位影音服務系統 Digital Audio Visual Archive System For open-access materials, limit 授權範圍 to 網際網路 under 進階查詢.
Modern Chinese Cultural Studies Youtube Channel Includes full Chinese films, circa 1949 and earlier, with English subtitles uploaded by chinesefilmclassics.org

Still Images

Apabi 数字资源平台. 图片库 This link opens in a new window Access to images of Chinese art works from museums in China as well as around the world, such as fine art, calligraphy, folk art, communism-related art, excavated art objects, old-time photographs, ancient art designs, classic painting techniques, book illustrations, clothing and decoration, two-dimension modern graphic designs, and more.
Zhongguo Jindai Tupianku 中國近代圖片庫 (1833-1949) This link opens in a new window Search and access images of photos, painting, calligraphy, graph, comics, maps, rubbings, and more, extracted from late Qing dynasty and Republican era publications.

ARTstor Use the Geography browsing to get to the China and Taiwan collections

Chinese Pamphlets 连环画 This link opens in a new window Mass education materials (cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines) published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.

國立故宮博物院典藏資源 Digitized collection at the National Palace Museum Online, Taiwan
The East Asian Image Collection at Lafayette College An open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
Historical Photographs of China (University of Bristol) for searching and browsing 20,000+ photographs from the substantial holdings of images of modern China held mostly in private hands outside that country.

Biographical Dictionaries

Apabi 工具书库 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text search and access to an increasing number of Chinese dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, and indexes.

Chinese Biographical Database 中國歷代人物傳記資料庫 A increasing number of significant biographical information from China’s historical records from Tang, Five Dynasties, Liao, Song, Jin, Yuan, Ming and Qing dynasties
China Vitae 中国名人录 The online biographical database provides biographies (in English) of current Chinese political, military, economic, business, and academic leaders.
二十五史人名大辞典/ 黄惠贤 ; 副主编赵泽轩 published by 中州古籍出版社, 1997; vol.2 can be accessed at http://uclibs.org/PID/162608
近代來华外国人名词典 / 中国社会科学院近代史研究所翻译室 Published by Zhongguo she hui ke xue chu ban she, 1981; held at EAC REF Call# DS734 .J56 1981
人名權威: 人物傳記資料庫 Developed by Academic Sinica, Taiwan.
中國婦女傳記辭典 / 蕭虹, 陳玉冰 Published by Sydney University Press in 2010. The library only has v.1 (Qing dai juan, 1644-1911) at EAC Call#: HQ1767.5.A3 B56123 2010 v.1
中国历代人名大辞典/ 张撝之, 沈起炜, 刘德重 Published by 上海古籍出版社, 1999;
中国留学生大辞典 / [周棉]
中國人名大辭典 / 臧勵龢等編 Published by Shanghai Shang wu yin shu guan, 1980

Dictionaries

Apabi 工具书库 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text search and access to an increasing number of Chinese dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, and indexes.

辞海. 1999年版彩图缩印本(音序) / [辞海编辑委员会] Published by Shanghai ci shu chu ban she in 2001
古代汉语字典/ 张双棣, 陈涛 Published by Beijing da xue chu ban she in 1998
汉英成语词典 = Dictionary of Chinese idioms / 施正信, 王春菁, 张健钟 Published by Zhongguo dui wai fan yi chu ban gong si in 2006
漢語大詞典（含12册)/ 主编罗竹风 ; 汉语大词典编辑委員会 Published by Han yu da ci dian chu ban she, 1988-1994
林语堂当代汉英词典 Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage (Lin Yutang)
明代職官中英辭典 Chinese-English Dictionary of Ming Government Official Titles The dictionary includes over 3,000 Ming government official titles , from the first year of Hongwu (1368 A.D.) to the seventeenth year of Chongzhen (1644 A.D.). The Official title entries are arranged primarily in the order of affiliated bureaucratic offices, from the central to local systems of government.

Directories

Apabi 工具书库 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text search and access to an increasing number of Chinese dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, and indexes.
China Companies and Products Database 中国企业公司与产品数据库 This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of current information on companies and products of China. The database provides information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, and web sites.

地名權威資料庫 - Place Authority Database "Information on place names from Buddhist sources with latitude and longitude. KML output."--Web site
時間權威資料庫 Time Authority Database "A comprehensive database of Chinese calendar dates between the start of the Qin dynasty 16th Nov. 221 to the end of the Qing dynasty 18th Jan. 1912 CE."--Web site

Encyclopedias

Apabi 工具书库 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text search and access to an increasing number of Chinese dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, and indexes.

中国大百科全书 / 中囯大百科全书总编辑委员会 This is the first large scale real encyclopedia set in Chinese publishing history. It has 74 volumes, 80,000 (round) entries, 12.6 billion Chinese characters in total, and covers 66 subjects in social sciences, arts, humanities, sciences, and engineering areas. The Web version allows free view of the first 200~600 characters of each entry.
中国女性百科全书 = Women's encyclopaedia of China / [卢乐山主编] Covers [1]. 社会生活卷 -- [2]. 文化教育卷 http://uclibs.org/PID/163273 -- [3]. 婚姻家庭卷-- [4]. 医药保健
中国烹饪百科全书/中国烹饪百和全书编委会 Published in 1995 by the Encyclopedia of China Publishing House
中国原始宗教百科全书/《中国原始宗教百科全书》编纂委员会 Published in 2002 by Sichuan ci shu chu ban she
中华风俗小百科 / 许钰 Published in 1992 by Tianjin ren min chu ban she

Statistics

China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) 中国经济社会大数据平台 This link opens in a new window A large selection of statistical data published by the Chinese government at all levels. There, you may use the navigation mode on the left to explore yearbooks or use the search functions at the very right of the horizontal navigation bar. The English edition is also available following the China Data Insights link on the top right corner. However, please be noted that the English edition has a smaller and not-so-updated data collection.
the new URL: https://data.oversea.cnki.net
EPS China Data This link opens in a new window China statistical time series data and census data. Coverage includes the following sectors: economic operation, industry operation, trade and external economy, social development, resources and environment.
Chinese version at https://www.epsnet.com.cn/index.html#/Home
China Data Online This link opens in a new window Provides economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, an atlas of China, and a sub-database-China Geo-Explorer (CGE).
China Population Census database 中国人口普查数据库 This link opens in a new window Contains a full-text and data archive of major national population censuses in PRC starting from 1982 to 2010.
new URLs: https://npcd.oversea.cnki.net/en & https://npcd.oversea.cnki.net/chn
China Geo-Explorer II This link opens in a new window Offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system. With this spatial intelligence, users are able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications.

A list of statistical yearbooks on government websites Compiled by Susan Xue of UCB, this list contains a list of statistical yearbooks currently available from national and provincial government websites from China.Note that a few provincial and municipal yearbooks are noted "unavailable" (presumably to a foreign IP address).

Apabi 年鑒庫 This link opens in a new window Provides full-text search and access to yearbooks from China mostly before 2010.

新中国六十年统计资料汇编 (1949-2008) China compendium of statistics 1949-2008
台灣日治時期統計資料庫

China Doctoral Dissertation & Masters’ Theses Database (CDMD) 中国博硕士论文库（1984-） This link opens in a new window This database offers access to academic research of China’s institutions of higher education. The theses and dissertations are available in Chinese, with an interface in English.
In temporary suspension effective April 1, 2023 per the publisher.
China Dissertations Database 中国学位论文全文数据库 This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of masters, doctoral, and post-doctoral dissertations from China (1980-).
CETD 碩博士論文（2004-） This link opens in a new window Provides fulltext access to theses and dissertations from higher education institutions in Taiwan.

臺灣博碩士論文知識加值系統 Provides searches for dissertation/thesis from universities in Taiwan. An increasing number of dissertations and theses are available in fulltext. Registration needed for full access.
HKU Theses Online Provides access to an increasing number of fulltext dissertations and theses from this institution.