Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art Research: Videos

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Art, and Visual Studies
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Multimedia Resources Center (MRC)

The Multimedia Resources Center (MRC) houses the UCI Libraries' collection of non-print media in the arts, humanities, business and management, social sciences, and government information. The UCI Libraries actively collects titles that support instruction and research for the academic programs at UCI.

 

Other Useful Guides

Video Art Resources

Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI)--An international resource for video and media art. EAI has fostered the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of video art, and more recently, digital art projects.

Looking for films?

Film Archives

The Library of Congress' National Film Preservation Board offers a directory of Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers. California's can be found here (http://www.loc.gov/film/arch.html#ca). 

The Paley Center's permanent media collection contains nearly 150,000 television, radio programs, and commercials.
The UCLA Film & Television Archive is the second largest moving image archive in the United States and the world’s largest university-based media archive.

The Visual Communications Archives offers comprehensive repositories of 20th Century Asian Pacific American history with unique holdings in historical still and moving images and oral histories. Located in Los Angeles and available upon appointment.

iota has assembled an extensive media collection uniquely focused on abstraction in film, video, performance, and installation art. Located in Culver City, the facility offers a screening room available for study by scholars, students and the general public.

The Archive of American Television contains over 2,500 hours of videotaped, oral history interviews with TV's pioneers, across every television profession. Located in North Hollywood.

British Pathé is one of the oldest media companies in the world with 90,000 historical clips with free previews.
The National Film Preservation Foundation has helped to preserve more than 1,975 films in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.