Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art Research: Art Exhibition Reviews

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Art, and Visual Studies
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Find Reviews

Crowds viewing the American National Exhibition in Moscow, 1959. Image Source: Archives of American Art. 

*UC Irvine Access Only

Art Bibliographies Modern

Indexes numerous art publications as well as many major newspapers; simply click Advanced Search, then in the Document Type select Exhibition Review.

Art Daily

The first art newspaper online.

Arts Journal

 Digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Features links to stories culled from more than 200 newspapers, magazines and publications.

Los Angeles Times

Los Angeles Times Art & Culture online: The Culture Monster--All Art, All the Time is a good place to check for reviews.

Los Angeles Times, 1985-present*

Los Angeles Times Historical, 1881-1986*

   
New York Times

New York Times Arts online

New York Times, 1980-present*

New York Times Historical, 1851-2009*

Rhizome

Dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology.

Access World News*

 Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Click links in blue box for specific papers World Papers, United States Papers, Spanish Language Papers, and California Papers.

Nexis Uni*

Useful for locating performance reviews, articles, popular news items, and obituaries.

(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985*

The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertisements.