Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art Research: Online Archives

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Art, and Visual Studies
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Online Archives

*UC Irvine Access Only

Primary sources may include interviews, exhibition catalogs, pamphlets, oral histories, artists’ journals, or artists’ statements. If you are looking for images, please also consult the Finding and Managing Images Guide.

Archives of American Art The Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America. 

The Beazley Archive Provides dictionary and bibliographies related to collections of ancient Greek and Roman cultural objects. Housed in the Classical Art Research Center and Archive at the University of Oxford.

Getty Research Institute Use online Getty research tools and learn how to access Research Library collections.

NYPL Digital Gallery Provides free and open access to over 640,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, and more.

Online Archive of California  The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information System  Search 1.89 million records, with links to 178,800 images, video and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian libraries, archives, museums, and specialized research units.

Women Artists Archives National Directory An innovative web directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists active in the U.S. since 1945.

Southern California Museums & Historical Sites, UC San Diego Arts Libraries  Find museums and historical sites from San Diego & San Diego County, Orange County, Los Angeles County, Riverside, San Bernadino, and Imperial Counties.

Publishers' Bindings Online 1815-1930  A significant digital collection of 19th-century decorative bindings, along with a comprehensive glossary and guide to the elements of these objects. These bindings reflect not only social and cultural history, but also bibliographic history.

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Books Sales/Auction Catalogs  Descriptive records of art auctions and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works.

Universes in Universe: World Art Visual arts of Africa, Asia, and Latin America within the context of international art processes.