Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art Research: Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Art, and Visual Studies
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Historic Newspapers

Historic United States Newspapers
19th Century U.S. Newspapers * Ethnic Newswatch * Coverage is from 1960 (but mostly from 1991) onward.
Access World News *
Google News Archive Search Go here for a list of titles and dates: http://news.google.com/newspapers.
Accessible Archives * Illustrated Civil War Newspaper and Magazines *
American Periodical Series * Coverage: 1740-1900 Los Angeles Sentinel * Coverage: 1934-2005 (missing Nov 1940 - Dec 1945)
America's Historical Newspapers * Coverage: 1690-1876. Los Angeles Times Historical * Coverage: 1881-1987
Atlanta Daily World * Coverage: 1931-2003 New York Amsterdam News * Coverage: 1992-1993
Baltimore Afro-American * Coverage: 1893-1998 New York Times Historical * Coverage: 1851-2007
California Digital Newspaper Project Coverage: 1846-1922 (not inclusive)
New York Tribune Historical * Coverage: 1841-1922
California Eagle Coverage: 1944 Pittsburgh Courier * Coverage: 1911-1950
California's Historical Newspapers Date range 1846-1922 San Francisco Chronicle * Coverage: 1869-1922
Chicago Defender & Daily Defender * Coverage: 1910-1976
TLS: Times Literary Historical Archive * Coverage: 1902-2005
Chicago Tribune Historical * Coverage: 1849-1986 Wall Street Journal Historical * Coverage: 1889-1993
Chronicling America Coverage: 1860-1922
Washington Post * Coverage 1877-1994

Historic International Newspapers

17th-18th Century Burney Collection NewspaperSG (Singapore) Coverage: 1831-2009
British Newspapers * Coverage: 1800-1900 The Observer (London) * Coverage: 1791-2003
Eighteenth Century Journals (British) * Coverage: c. 1685-1815 People's Daily (Renmin Ribao) Coverage: 1946-
The Guardian (Manchester, England) * Coverage: 1821-2003 Picture Post Historical Archive Coverage: 1938-1957
Indonesian Newspaper Project Coverage: 1934-1946 Pravda Digital Archive Coverage: 1912-2009. In Cyrillic. 
Kikuzo II Visual * Coverage: 1879--. In Japanese.  Shen Bao * Coverage: 1872-1949
Latin American Newspapers * Coverage: Dates vary, mostly late 19th-20th century Taiwan nichinichi shinpō * Coverage: 1868-1944
Latin American Weekly Report * Coverage: 1967-- TLS: Times Literary Supplement Archive * Coverage: 1902-1990
(London) Times Digital Archive * Coverage: 1785-2006

Historic Magazines

American Periodicals Series * Coverage: 1740-1900

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) * Coverage: 1701-1800.

The Economist (Historical Archive) * Coverage: 1843-2003 

Eighteenth Century Journals (British) * Coverage: 1685-1815

Godey's Lady's Book * Coverage: 1830-1875

Harper's Weekly * Coverage: 1857-1912

Hein Online * Contains more than 1,000 law or law-related periodicals.

Media History Digital Library Coverage: 1912-1973

The Nation * Coverage: 1865 - 2002

Periodicals Archive Online * Coverage: 2001--

Periodicals Index Online * Coverage: 1770

Readers' Guide Retrospective * INDEX to general-interest U.S. periodicals 1890-1982.

Vogue Archive * Coverage: 1892- current issue (As of 9/19/11 this database is about 45% complete, new content being added daily.)