Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art Research: Archives & Museums

Main Research Guide for Library Resources used in Art History, Studio Art, and Visual Studies
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/art

Archival Collections

Archivegrid *
A very useful guide to locating archives around the world. Information can be searched by topic or specific archive. New resources are continually added.

Online Archive of California (OAC)
Provides access to descriptions and finding aids for materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions across California.

Library of Congress Finding Aids
Archival finding aids are detailed guides to primary source material which provide fuller information than that normally contained within cataloging records. This page provides links to online archival finding aids at the Library of Congress.

National Register of Archives
The NRA contains information on the nature and location of manuscripts and historical records that relate to British history.

Repositories of Primary Sources
"A listing of over 5,000 websites describing library holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar." (University of Idaho)

Themes align with K-12 California Content Standards in History-Social Science, English-Language Arts, and Visual Arts. Each topic is a primary source set of 20-30 selected images (photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, art, and other cultural artifacts). Brief overviews of each topic provide historical context for images.