Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Anthropology: Academic Articles


URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/anthropology

Academic Article Databases

 

Anthropology Plus
Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard, and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

 

AnthroSource
Current issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins, as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.

 

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage across the social sciences.

 

IBSS
 3 million+ bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters  back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on : anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

 

Web of Science
Covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

 

JSTOR
Journal STORage.  Access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, history, economics, political science, demography, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.  The current 3-5 years of content is not usually available.

 

Project MUSE
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

 

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
For PhD students and Faculty, SSRN now has an Anthropology & Archaeology Research Network (AARN). Subscribe to its eJournals for new working papers by other scholars. 

 

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Coverage is from 1952 to the present, and includes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
   

PubMed
Over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles.

 

Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes  871,000+ records from early 1970's. Supports the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

 

GenderWatch
Dating back to 1970's, it is a repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.  Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

 

Africa-Wide Information
Bibliographic database with extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies, and focuses on all aspects of Africa and other developing nations. With over 3.5 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.  

 

Communication Abstracts
A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, it covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline.

 

Family & Society Studies Worldwide
1.6 million+ records of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare, from 1970 to the present. Provides citations in social work, social science and family practice. Includes journals, conference papers, books, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses, and dissertations.

Loading

Featured Journal Titles in General Anthropology


Annual Review of Anthropology
Review articles that cover the significant developments all subfields of anthropology.
 

Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts that provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields.
 

Anthropological Theory
A forum for new insights into theoretical issues in anthropology and more broadly, social theory.
 

Anthropological Quarterly
Articles in ethnography and anthropological theory.
 

Current Anthropology
Research encompassing the full range of anthropological scholarship on human cultures, and on the human and other primate species. 
 

Full Text

If you don't already see the full text in these databases, use the uc_elinks button.


If UCI doesn't own a journal article, you can (freely!) get it with InterLibary Loan.

Got a citation?


Use citation linker to locate an article when you have a citation.